CDROM-Guide forums  

PDA

View Full Version : hard drive question [compaq; 4830; win98]


   
the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 09:00 AM
my current motherboard and hard drive:
motherboard chipset intel 82440FXNATOMA
CPU TYPE = original OEM processor

my drive is:
IDE (ATA/ATAPI) 6GB quantum bigfoot_cy6480A

wots the biggest hard drive i can get?

another question. how do u do a clean format to the hard drive?

i;m a realy novice so a detailed step by step would be good.

cheers. (from uk)

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 05:19 PM
bump

Van Nugent
Sep 21, 2002, 05:48 PM
Depending on your pocket, you can buy a 100+GB HD. In my opinion 20GB is a minimum you should have to run Windows efficiently.

I use a bootdisk to boot up the system then use the command "format c:" at A: prompt. One can use the switches /u , /s , /q but they are not required. You can get a bootdisk for Win9x/ME/2K/XP HERE (www.bootdisk.com).

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 05:50 PM
wot do u mean by pocket? i have windows 98se, formally windows 95.

Van Nugent
Sep 21, 2002, 05:56 PM
Well, if you're running 98SE, 6GB would work but you'll run out of disk space before you know it. To put it in another way, depending on your budget, you can get a 100+ GB HD.

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 06:09 PM
my budget is under 150. not bothered about the money but i heard that my bios may not recongise the big hard drive.

sickmanofasia
Sep 21, 2002, 06:17 PM
some older motherboards can only reconise upto 32gig but you can update your bios for that or there's even software that can do it.

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 06:20 PM
can u point me in the right direction plz?

sickmanofasia
Sep 21, 2002, 06:42 PM
well most of hd manufacturers have some sort of set up disk for installing their drives if you dont get a disk when you buy your hd just go to manufactures website and you'll proberly be able to download one.you can use their software to reconise full size of hd.

HTH

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 06:46 PM
HTH?

ok. i'm gettin different reponses. the reason i didn't get a internal hard drive was bcoz someone on ere said my bios wouldn't recongise it 100%. so if i brought 20gb drive, my bios would probaly recongise it as a 8gb or sumfink.
my current motherboard and hard drive:
motherboard chipset intel 82440FXNATOMA
CPU TYPE = original OEM processor

my drive is:
IDE (ATA/ATAPI) 6GB quantum bigfoot_cy6480A

if the helps.

Van Nugent
Sep 21, 2002, 06:53 PM
Don't worry, m8. Determine what HD you want to get and tell what make/model it is. If your mobo is old and can't recognize the whole size, we will then go to the HD maker's Website to get the utilities to make it work with your mobo.

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 06:59 PM
ok cool. cheers peeps. so any size hard drive would work on any computer how ever how old or new?

Van Nugent
Sep 21, 2002, 07:05 PM
Well, before you buy the HD, you'll need to check the HD Website to see if there are the utilities for that model to overcome the BIOS limitation.

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 07:10 PM
oh rite. so u don't get like a disk wit drivers to oversome the problem?

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 07:12 PM
getting very complicated now. aghhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! i mite just get a zip drive! only gonna use this comp for like a year b4 i get a top spec pc and go to uni.

Van Nugent
Sep 21, 2002, 07:21 PM
Not for every model. So try to determine which one you wanna buy then check the Website for the app.

the_hittman
Sep 21, 2002, 07:28 PM
ok. thanks for ur help mate!!! appreciate it!
will let u no how i get on.
;)

sickmanofasia
Sep 21, 2002, 07:33 PM
maxtor drives do
western digital do
ibm do
seagate do

these are the ones i know that have software to see full drive

but im sure there's going to be more


HTH

the_hittman
Sep 22, 2002, 07:14 AM
Originally posted by sickmanofasia
maxtor drives do
western digital do
ibm do
seagate do

these are the ones i know that have software to see full drive

but im sure there's going to be more


HTH

u sure?

wot does "HTH" mean?

the_hittman
Sep 22, 2002, 08:52 AM
*bump*

sickmanofasia
Sep 22, 2002, 10:12 AM
ok then lets use ibm for example look at their site here

***********.storage.ibm.com/hdd/support/download.htm#diskmgr2k

they offer disk manager as a set up disk to overcome any bios limitations.

so choose your manufacturer go to their website and search for setup tools in their support/download page.

imb was just used for example i am in no way telling you to choose ibm

HTH=hope this helps