420
Jan 21, 2004, 04:05 PM
Just curious as to whether anyone has dealt with them or has heard stories about them. Can save about $20 on an item by shopping there but it wouldn't be worth it if their rep is sketchy. TIA for any help on this. :)
![]() |
View Full Version : Ever hear of Ateck.com ?
|
420 Jan 21, 2004, 04:05 PM Just curious as to whether anyone has dealt with them or has heard stories about them. Can save about $20 on an item by shopping there but it wouldn't be worth it if their rep is sketchy. TIA for any help on this. :) jesterrace777 Jan 21, 2004, 04:18 PM Never heard of them. Have you found them on Pricegrabber and do they have a rating or a BBB Certification? 420 Jan 21, 2004, 04:24 PM No listing either way on the BBB. I've found them now but rather than delete this post, I'll keep it here with some added info for anyone else searching .... They have a reputation for OC'ing vid cards and selling them as the next card up. i.e. Radeon 9700 being sold as a 9700 Pro. They do this with the OEMs anyway; god knows what they do to retail versions. This would explain why their prices are lower than most. :P Also through some tracerouting, etc, found they have at least 2 domains, just an FYI ... :) http://www.ateck.com/ http://www.micer.com/ Might consider going there in person though as I can physically check out what chipset is used, etc. Turns out their shop is near my wife's parents' house. |