CDROM-Guide forums

CDROM-Guide forums (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/index.php)
-   Windows 95 (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   Anyone running Duron on Win95 ? (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/showthread.php?t=245612)

duffy90210 May 13, 2003 10:24 AM

Anyone running Duron on Win95 ?
 
I have known for years that AMD CPU 350 or above will cause a timing problem under Win95, and AMD has produced a fix for that, and for many years, we never had to go down the same route again, until now, a customer has some software that will only run under 95, but it will be under a Duron 1000, just wondering if anyone had actully ran a similar setup with the patch for a while and noticed any long term effects ?

Thanks

Badidoh May 13, 2003 02:48 PM

i'ved used 95 on my athlon before, so it shouldn't be a problem much, but why 95??? i would highly suggest 98se.

littlejack May 13, 2003 04:53 PM

Have to say, i use 95 on a duron machine at work, for much he same reason as your customer, have been for about a year with no probs.

Some software wont run under 98.

i also have software that wont run on anything faster than a 166 machine.

duffy90210 May 13, 2003 05:13 PM

Thanks for the feedback Jack..

ps2wiz May 13, 2003 11:39 PM

I got one runing, reason is the software compatibilty again.. Old 95-MS-DOS progz that only run on 95.

And no problems, runing it about 1/2 a year now.

Darkman May 13, 2003 11:45 PM

It's a pitty to cripple a system by running Win95 on it for the sake of a single proggy. Will that software run in DOS mode? at least then you could use win98 as the OS and have a simple pif for that proggy so it runs in DOS mode. ********support.microsoft.com/?kbid=188157


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved