CDROM-Guide forums

CDROM-Guide forums (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/index.php)
-   Open to All Computer Related Topics (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Need some help ++Internet Shareing++ (http://www.cdrom-guide.com/forums/showthread.php?t=136074)

majid316 Jul 04, 2002 08:04 AM

Need some help ++Internet Shareing++
 
Lo guys

Donít really use this forum much but when I have I always get the problem sorted :)

Okay
I have recently got Telewest Blueyonder Broadband Internet (Cable 512k).
I have 2 PCs (Both Desktops) Okay the Host Has two (NICs) Network cards, one which the Modem is connected and the other is used to for networking to client (Which has one (NIC) in it, both connected with a Cross-over cable.


Iím trying to share the internet connection so both can be online at the same time.
On the Host I have allowed internet to be shared on Local network area 2 (Thatís the one where Modem is connected) In Local Area 3 I have setted it up internet protocol(TCP/IP) As:
Use the Following
IP address
192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask : as
255.255.255.0
Default Gate way as Blank

On The Client I have set it as
IP address
192.168.0.2
Sub mask: as
255.255.255.0
Default Gateway as:
192.168.0.1

Also have configured the Host and Client with the Wizard.

Problem is its not working only the Host is online and Client isnít also
The Host can Ping it self but when I ping the client with host I get request timed out,


And the Client doesnít Ping it self or the Host!

Any ideas guys

Both are running on Window XP Pro

And pretty powerful Machines
Host P4 2.2 ghtz 256 ddr ram 40 gig
Client P3 800Mhtz 128mbram 20 gig



[IMG]***********.348khz.cwc.net/defdex/majid.gif[/IMG]

Captain Jul 04, 2002 08:29 AM

Something is wrong if you can't ping yourself. Why such is large subnet mask? Wouldn't 255.255.255.0 be enough?

You dont have any firewalls setup do you? Not even the microsoft one which comes with XP?

majid316 Jul 04, 2002 08:34 AM

I have a few firewalls ZoneAlarm,Tiny firewall and the MS one i think

I typed the Sub Mask Wrong m8
it is 255.255.255.0

mozzie Jul 04, 2002 11:04 AM

Your problem is the crossover cable - its only one way traffic , get a HUB

heatbball Jul 04, 2002 11:27 AM

make sure u use a patch cable (both ends the same) with the hub.

Captain Jul 04, 2002 12:12 PM

[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by mozzie [/i]
[B]Your problem is the crossover cable - its only one way traffic , get a HUB [/B][/QUOTE]

Thats bollox, x-over cable is two way unless you buy some specially customized. You don't need a hub either, your physical setup is fine unless something is faulty.

When you plug in the cross-over cable to the two network cards, do you get a light on each one? 99% of all cards will have one light for a connection then 1/2 for data. Maybe the network card in the client is faulty.

Try disabling all the firewalls if they are running. If you have a spare network card then you could try that too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved