CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Nov 07, 2002, 10:53 AM
zack371 zack371 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,944
Default

sponsored links

 
My friend said he got the info from the web...


Check out this link ***********.dslreports.com/faq/5040

He said that is wha he used. I wish I had a PS2 so I could be of better assistance. The DMZ host thing in the article is a great idea though. If you can tell your firewall/router to use your PS2 as a DMZ host, you should be set.

Zack
  #14  
Old Nov 08, 2002, 12:56 AM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

Zack, that makes perfect sense since you need to enable DMZ when you don't know exactly what ports a certain game uses. However, it is always wise to disable DMZ as soon as you are done playing, and reenable it again the next time you want to play, for security reasons. However I know fully well that I'm wasting my breath, but this [b]IS[/b] the [b]security[/b] forum after all!
  #15  
Old Nov 08, 2002, 11:17 AM
zack371 zack371 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,944
Default

[b]YES!![/b] Definitely disable the DMZ as soon as you are finished playing. Leaving the DMZ enabled is an open door... Not smart.
  #16  
Old Nov 08, 2002, 03:46 PM
Tman1966 Tman1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 69
Default

Look at your outgoing log on your router after you try to connect with your ps2 and you should be able to find it there.As far as enabling DMZ,you can enable for just one IP.As far as assigning the ps2 an IP I dont think you can do that,it should automatically assign an IP on bootup.

Last edited by Tman1966; Nov 08, 2002 at 03:51 PM.
  #17  
Old Nov 08, 2002, 06:13 PM
whodi101 whodi101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 107
Default

Okay guys, thanks for your help. I have figured it out and was successful.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone help me out with my MSN DSL? SweteG Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 May 12, 2007 04:11 PM
windows xp firewall, norton firewall, & emule jerkwheat Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Mar 09, 2004 04:18 PM
Question concerning Network adaptor and dsl Dafranchise69 Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Sep 24, 2002 12:18 PM
DirecTV DSL Gateway Question>> LiLViEtDuDe917 Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Apr 30, 2002 10:53 PM
Tiny Personal Firewall zack371 Computer Networking & Security 2 Apr 14, 2002 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved