CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 18, 2002, 04:26 PM
noamkrief noamkrief is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Default "it's now safe to turn off your computer" XP

sponsored links

 
hi everyone.

I use to have win98 on my laptop. When i pressed "shutdown" it would actually turn off my machine. (which was really nice)

Now i got xp on it and it gives me "it's now safe to turn off the computer"

Am I missing a driver of some sort?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 18, 2002, 04:58 PM
ellal ellal is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 581
Default

try: control panel --> power management --> APM and enable advanced power management
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 19, 2002, 03:53 AM
noamkrief noamkrief is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Default

I can't find APM under power options... My only tabs are "power scheme" "advanced" "hibernate" and "ups"

plz help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 19, 2002, 02:39 PM
GG27 GG27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 189
Default

Hi m8 i did this after reading this post and i do have APM tab it is 2nd from the end, i am useing Xp home edition , it now shuts down on it's own
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Nov 19, 2002, 04:09 PM
Centurian Centurian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 44
Default

Just saw a Learnkey video on XP the other day which mentioned this. You should have checked to see if there was a BIOS upgrade for your machine. XP requires a ACPI compatible BIOS for it to automatically shut down (and other power management features). It creates a Hardware Abstraction Layer the first time you install XP. Looks like you will have to see if there is a updated BIOS for your machine and then reload XP from scratch because the HAL can't be modified (according the the video anyway).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Nov 19, 2002, 05:45 PM
noamkrief noamkrief is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Default

I had ACPI enabled in my bios when i installed xp. And still have it installed. I can't even go into standby.

Again- when i had 98se i could go to standby and the computer would also shut down all the way.

My bios is current.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK, I just installed my new Radeon7000, I am ONLY getting safe mode!!! URGENT!!! upur0 Open to All Computer Related Topics 31 Dec 19, 2008 09:22 AM
which programs in start menu are safe to turn off jimmy mumu Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Apr 06, 2004 12:52 PM
Why won't my PC turn on? [; ; winXP] Gold_Disk Windows XP 3 Jun 09, 2003 02:26 AM
how do you make you computer automatically shut off instead of "its now safe to .... squad7 Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Aug 06, 2002 07:26 PM
How do I turn the PS2 pot? Please help FAST!! upur0 Video Game Backup - PS2 13 Apr 09, 2002 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved