CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 26, 2003, 07:23 PM
.S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. .S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 223
Default PC starts low

sponsored links

 
I've mention this before but I might not of explained it correctly, what it is is when I turn my pc on sometimes when it's going through the 'MEMORY TESTING' and finding the drives it goes really slow sometimes taking a 3 min or so to load xp, yet other times it will run sweet and load in 1 min, when it does the memory testing it flies through it.

M/B = Epox 8RDA+

PSU = 350 W

RAM = Corsair 512MB DDR

Drives = DVD/W + 2x CD/W

CPU = BARTON XP 3000+

Any ideas why it could be going slow plz !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Apr 27, 2003, 06:08 AM
vimes vimes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Not very sure but one of the causes may be difficulty in detecting your IDE devices ( HDD - CD-roms ) during POST. If any of your jumper settings are incorrect it can take longer to detect. Check that your Hdd isn't set to slave or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 27, 2003, 06:55 AM
nightheart nightheart is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: I wish I knew........
Posts: 653
Default

you could try turning off the autodetect in the BIOS, and manually your drives. This will help if your mobo is having problems finding your drives.........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Apr 27, 2003, 07:06 AM
vimes vimes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Try pressing escape to skip the memory test.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Apr 27, 2003, 04:44 PM
andyr andyr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 696
Default

Make sure you don't have any discs in any drives.
Make sure that the setting for quick power on self test is enabled in your bios.

Also, refer to Vimes post above.

1 minute is still way to slow though so 3 minutes must feel like an eternity!

Mine takes about 15-20 seconds to show the desktop and about 35-40 seconds before it's fully usable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to make sure zonealarm starts first when windows starts ? jackalman Open to All Computer Related Topics 9 Jan 17, 2004 07:58 AM
Program that starts before winxp explorer does Wopah Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Jun 10, 2003 01:38 PM
Low Level Formatting Dasoldier Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 May 19, 2003 03:23 PM
Low Virtual Memory In WinXP dcm386 Windows XP 5 Jul 01, 2002 10:08 PM
low volume on my dvd rips rabby2 VideoCD 5 Apr 25, 2002 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved