CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 26, 2003, 03:00 PM
yer nice one yer nice one is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk.
Posts: 870
Default Router question

sponsored links

 
I ran a security scan on my pc using ********grc.com/

This Is The Result

Without your knowledge or explicit permission, the Windows networking technology which connects your computer to the Internet may be offering some or all of your computer's data to the entire world at this very moment!

The thing is I am sat behind 2 routers, 1 zoom X4 MODEM/Router and 1 D-Link DL-604 how can I have ports open ? I thought that if i had a router that i would be safe from attacks.

Do you recomend using a software bassed firewall on every machine behind the routers ?
  #2  
Old Sep 27, 2003, 04:33 AM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Hi yer nice one,

Just because you are behind routers doesn't unfortunately mean you're totally safe. Obviously if the routers are running NAT this will help.

I have to say I'm not a fan of GRC's website, but what they usually find open is Port 139, Netbios port which is easy to turn off in your networking tcp/ip properties.

As for running a software firewall I don't bother personally as running NAT and I know what ports are open and for what. I didn't get the Blaster virus though for example even though I hadn't installed the patches on both PC's.

HTH, T.
  #3  
Old Sep 30, 2003, 03:09 AM
zack371 zack371 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,944
Default

You could have the external router forward the ports to the internal router and then have the internal router forward them to the appropriate computer. That might work...unless the routers do PAT (port address translation) in the background. Port address translation is just like NAT except for ports. Some routers use PAT to keep track of session information. I would try forwarding from the router closest to the internet to the next one and then have that one forward the port in to your machine...
Worth a try anyways!

Zack
[img]***********.mindshatter.com/zack/zack371.gif[/img]
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Router Question for PS2 Network Adapter dynodale Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Jul 14, 2008 09:36 PM
Simple question - What do i connect wireless router to - to use broadband on my lappy MATRIX 2001 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jan 22, 2004 10:46 AM
router question HHH_THE_GAME Computer Networking & Security 1 Sep 18, 2002 10:11 AM
question about a router .... need help please?????? bluntology Computer Networking & Security 3 Jul 28, 2002 03:54 PM
Question about a router dcm386 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jun 21, 2002 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved