CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Sep 24, 2003, 06:14 PM
geobon geobon is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,758
Default

sponsored links

 
Quote:
[i]Originally posted by PhilEnfield [/i]
[B]Well ... if you have a Burner that can quite happily burn at 4 X ..... why settle for 2 X ?

If you were burning hundreds a week maybe the 19p difference would add up, but then again so would the time to burn at an extra 15 mins per disk.

4.75 on 25, seems a reasonable price to pay for the 6 + hours saved and the peace of mind of knowing that your not gambling with the possibility that your drive might give up the ghost in, a few months time, like the 105's did.

Ripping and burning with the Burner is not wise, as it will shorten the life of the drive. Works out cheaper and simpler to get a seperate DVD-ROM drive IMO [/B]

Not really as i burn all my media at 2x regardless of being 2x or 4x media? try burning a movie at 2x and another at 4x on the same 4x media then test them both with cdspeed you'll be amazed at the results, To get to the point regarding myself why pay extra for 4x media when i burn at 2x as the results show the faster you write the more unstabe the disc becomes. Quality comes before speed to me.
  #14  
Old Sep 25, 2003, 02:25 AM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

I don't notice a bit of difference between the quality of my 4x burns and other discs that I have burned at 1x or 2x (Burned on G03 Riteks and G04 Riteks). I will go along with PhilEnfield though and say that it is unwise rip and write with the same drive. I had a 105 that was an all-in-one drive for me and I had the hacked firmware. It died after only 8 months of use. I have no idea if it was because the drive was being used for everything or the hacked firmware or if it was a combination of both (I believe that it was a combination of both). To play it safe I am now running a Lite-On 16x DVD-Rom which I now use for all of my reading and I am running official firmware (which makes sense since I have upgraded to 4x discs anyway). Hopefully this one will last longer than my first. If this one dies on me in the next year then I will simply avoid the Pioneer label from now on.
  #15  
Old Sep 25, 2003, 04:28 AM
PhilEnfield PhilEnfield is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by geobon [/i]
[B]Not really as i burn all my media at 2x regardless of being 2x or 4x media? try burning a movie at 2x and another at 4x on the same 4x media then test them both with cdspeed you'll be amazed at the results, To get to the point regarding myself why pay extra for 4x media when i burn at 2x as the results show the faster you write the more unstabe the disc becomes. Quality comes before speed to me. [/B]
Well .... like jester, I haven't noticed any degredation from burning at 4 X.
I only use Ritek G04's, but I can imagine if someone was using Princos or cheapies, then maybe instability would be an issue. I must have burnt well over 300 Riteks now on my 106 and have never had a playback problem. All work fine on 2 x PS2's, 2 x different Sony standalones, Panasonic, Cyberhome, Proview and a Pacific from Asdas

IMO the proof of the pudding, is in the eating .... if something works ok, that's it .... keep to it, why mess around with it. The more you tweak the more likelyhood there is of breaking it.
  #16  
Old Sep 25, 2003, 02:01 PM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

Well as Lazza's old sig used to say "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".
  #17  
Old Oct 01, 2003, 09:22 AM
Lazza Lazza is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,789
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by jesterrace777 [/i]
[B]Well as Lazza's old sig used to say "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". [/B]
Ah, but I never applied it to myself properly though m8.

Trying out the new 106 firmware now, I'm sure all will be fine.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the benefits of the new pioneer 106 firmware simple mind DVD 15 Jan 30, 2004 05:27 PM
Hacked Firmware for Pioneer 106 , dual layer support !!!! Ace3 DVD 5 Jan 28, 2004 05:14 PM
Problems with pioneer 106 and 1.07 firmware! madog30 DVD 4 Oct 27, 2003 04:42 PM
ripping DVD-rom vs 105 with hacked 1.33 firmware nimbles DVD 4 Aug 05, 2003 01:19 PM
using hacked firmware on an a04? jpm59 DVD 2 Jan 17, 2003 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved