CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 26, 2005, 08:46 AM
buscuitboy buscuitboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 325
Question two wireless router together?

sponsored links

 
I currently have a NETGEAR WGR614 four port wireless router in my basement office. I recently acquired a D-Link 802.11g AirPlus Xtreme G Wireless Router and would like to connect it to the NETGEAR router via a ethernet cable and therefore sort of use it as basically as a switch on the main level of my house. This way I would not only have more ethernet ports available, but maybe also increase the wireless range & get a better signal for several laptop PCs that are located on the main level. Is this possible?
  #2  
Old Sep 26, 2005, 05:42 PM
michaelcomputer michaelcomputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 78
Talking

May I suggest this:
[URL=***********.amazon.com/exec/obidos/search-handle-form/102-1903628-3746526]Amazon Search For Homeplug

It's an oldish technology called Homeplug. This is how it basically works:

Main DSL Link - Wireless Router - Homeplug - Anywhere in your house that has a Mains Electrcial Socket means you can plug the other Homeplug in and hey presto you have a wired network point. Completely safe and no loss of signal. You can then plug your other Wireless Router into your secondary Homeplug and you have wireless access in another room, or in any other room were you plug your secondary Homeplug. Or even have a Homeplug in every room it doesn't matter. Just plug the secondary wireless router into the Homplug in whatever room you have the Homeplug connected to your Mains Electricity Socket.

Sorry to ramble but I'm quite passionate about Homeplug as you can probably tell.

Last edited by michaelcomputer; Sep 26, 2005 at 05:45 PM.
  #3  
Old Oct 20, 2005, 06:19 PM
Piechops Piechops is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Or, if you just run the cable (which I believe allows a faster data transfer rate especially if you live in an old house with poor wiring), you can set up the other wireless router as a second WAP, but when moving around in your house you might have to switch from one to the other depending on signal strength...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Tips michaelcomputer Computer Networking & Security 1 Dec 08, 2005 08:52 PM
Multiple Router Setup Not working LiNkZ Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Aug 04, 2004 12:50 AM
Want to share broadband thru wireless dsl/cable router, wont work chadstreeter Computer Networking & Security 1 Oct 30, 2003 12:39 AM
Wired+Wireless home network purchasing recommendations... D001 Computer Networking & Security 2 Sep 04, 2003 11:00 PM
Linksys wireless router problem The_Bups_666 Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Jul 05, 2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved