CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 18, 2007, 01:46 AM
xNo0b xNo0b is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Exclamation some help wif cdrom boot....

sponsored links

 
after setting cdrom to 1st boot device n formatting the system. It will reboot as normal. But after rebooting, bios automaticly boots from cdroom without requesting to boot or not by me. So it will again go into the formating stage and not the windows setup stage. It say " checking boot record from CDROM" and then it automaticly boots which unables me to enter windows setup to install the windows... how can i disbale this feature so that bios will request whether to boot from CDROM or not AND NOT BOOT AUTO BY ITSELF....
all help is appreciated... ^^
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar 18, 2007, 12:12 PM
pahoo31 pahoo31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Can you not go back into the bios and change it back to the previous boot sequence? pahoo31.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mar 18, 2007, 06:34 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNo0b
how can i disbale this feature so that bios will request whether to boot from CDROM or not AND NOT BOOT AUTO BY ITSELF....
all help is appreciated... ^^


It should give you the option on the screen (after POST) to "press any key to boot from CD Rom" or an option to boot from hard disk.

On some Bioses there is a timer and you need to make a selection within a specified period or it will use the default.


It's pretty straight forward, so I'm not sure if I understand your issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Mar 19, 2007, 03:14 AM
xNo0b xNo0b is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default

well... tat's the prob... it does not request it... after POST, it auto boots from the CDROM without asking the usual " press any key to boot from cdrom" When the comp does tis, i am unable to enter to the windows setup n only brings me bek to square 1 which is the formating stage where everything is blue. i hav tried changing the sequence, but since i formated the comp alraedy, i cannot enter windows. BIOS will do a media ****ysis which takes forever n shows no result. thx anyway for the response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Mar 19, 2007, 04:12 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Go into the Bios and change the boot order.

Have CD Rom first, hard disk second.

Another way, if you don't want it to boot from CD Rom is to remove the CD.

If the Bios is set to boot from the next device, it will do so if the CD isn't there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
boot dos from usb 2.0 cdrom galshan7 Device Driver Questions 0 Jul 20, 2005 10:08 AM
Boot error shaggy_the1 Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 May 14, 2005 09:45 AM
OS clean install no CDROM support porterhr Open to All Computer Related Topics 8 Feb 09, 2003 07:32 PM
cdrom won't work [Packard Bell; Legend 102CD Supreme; win95a] Ang Hess Windows 95 1 Aug 02, 2002 12:52 AM
Multiple boot images on CD with Menu? Guph CD-R & CD-RW 0 Jun 12, 2002 04:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved