CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 22, 2002, 10:55 AM
superdude99 superdude99 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Default Magic II Install (New Problem)

sponsored links

 
Problem install with my Magic II chip V5.


I connected tried installing a Magic II R chip in a V5 console.
When completed I tested out the machine but it would not boot
or give the sony splash/intro screen screen. I disconnected all the
wires to the magic ii chip, and the ps2 works fine. I then
connected the 5 trouble shoot wires to test the chip. Again
I do not see the sony intro screen. This is how I put the machine
in ps1 mode. Please let me know if this is correct or if you had
any ideas what I could be doing wrong.

1) I turned the switch in the back to on.
2) I pressed the eject button and placed the ps1 game in
3) I held the reset button on and the tray closes and turns off.
4) I hit reset again to power up.

I have tested the points and noticed that reset does not flucuate
from 0v to 3.3v. It flucuates from 0v to 2.6v when the reset is
pressed. Is this my problem? If so, how can I remedy? Thanks
for your help. This is happening on 2 of my installs.

PS. I did recheck all by points and checked them again with a multimeter
They all look good.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 09:18 AM
superdude99 superdude99 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Is there any tests I can do to see if this chip is good? I have been going over my points over and over but still cant get this thing to work. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 26, 2002, 04:21 PM
moddogs moddogs is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 1,221
Default

For PS1/DVD Movie mode on a Magic chip, you have to press and hold reset down until the unit powers on and you get the Sony dashboard. Then, insert PS1 disc, close the tray and then tap reset.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This is how to install CogSwapLoader...bye bye swap magic 2/3 neverMindNames Video Game Backup - PS2 57 Apr 06, 2004 09:38 AM
magic 3.1 install tips qbano PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 1 Sep 30, 2003 04:08 PM
Magic 3.1 Where do i buy and install dir. PLEASE! look in snowmanluvs Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Mar 04, 2003 08:43 PM
ANOTHER magic 2 problem :( goatnutz PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 3 Nov 08, 2002 03:03 PM
Magic 2 Problem TheKing PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 2 Nov 04, 2002 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved