CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > CD-R & CD-RW
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Aug 25, 2002, 05:17 PM
illtbagu3 illtbagu3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Question *ReGoR*

sponsored links

 
hey thanks for the reply. i have tried that but my mother board tries to boot from the onboard ide devices. i cant figure out how to get it to boot from my controller card devices instead. thats why i have been puting my cd roms on my controller card. is there setting in the bios that will allow me to boot from my contoller device. i have a p4t mother board.
  #14  
Old Aug 26, 2002, 12:08 AM
*ReGoR* *ReGoR* is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Greenville N.Y. USA
Posts: 248
Default

Do you know how to get into you BIOS in there you can set the BOOT up device and it should have your PCI ATA card listed set it to the first to BOOT

In my Rig I set it first and second and the other choices off, My thinking it XP has no BOOT floppy and a BOOT up CD will ask you if you want to boot from the CD
and did you load the ATA cards driver on your HDD windows will need that you should be able to load it before you move your HDD onto the ATA card
and it is worth the hasle of setting the ATA card up

Try that and Let us know if it works
  #15  
Old Aug 26, 2002, 07:22 PM
illtbagu3 illtbagu3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Default

no it doesnt show that as a boot device. windows recognizes my pci adapter card as a scsi device. i looked thisone up and im not the only one. doesnt seem right to me bu now i can boot my hard drives from my adapter card. have any other advise let me know.

thanks,
freemp3boycottriaa
  #16  
Old Aug 26, 2002, 10:41 PM
*ReGoR* *ReGoR* is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Greenville N.Y. USA
Posts: 248
Default

WHAT??
  #17  
Old Aug 27, 2002, 02:56 AM
trinity_hayes trinity_hayes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 443
Default

I know it is said that burning on the fly is a problem if reader and writer are on the same ide cable, but that has not happened with me. My HD 40/80 are on ide 0 and the dvdrom and cdrw are on ide1. This works best for the machine I have. BTW cdr is master. If you run anything on the same ide cable as your HD it will slow them down. But that's only my opinion, its more important to me that the pc is faster than the cdrw etc.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master or Slave in Laptop devices !? cap DVD 1 Sep 19, 2003 07:41 PM
Master or Slave in Laptop devices !? [Toshiba; SD-C2502; win98SE] cap CD-R & CD-RW 1 Sep 19, 2003 05:03 AM
Weird Problem with slave drive [; ; winXP] nimbles Windows XP 5 Jul 11, 2003 02:13 PM
Master, Slave.....Slave, Master?????? smithycom Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Aug 02, 2002 05:25 PM
Primary, Seconedary, Slave master whats all this mean ?? JEDI Open to All Computer Related Topics 12 May 24, 2002 01:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved