CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > VideoCD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 16, 2002, 08:38 AM
long.ian long.ian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 290
Default whats dvd2svcd like

sponsored links

 
hi can anyone tell me about the dvd2svcd prog. that u can d/l of the net
how long does it take to convert a dvd?
  #2  
Old Sep 16, 2002, 09:42 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

Well it uses TMPGEnc or CCE for the actual encoding so it will take the same time as either of them do.
  #3  
Old Sep 18, 2002, 01:52 PM
rotwiler_1 rotwiler_1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 107
Default

It all depends on the quality you want from the svcds. If you want a high quality rip you need to use at least 4 in the multipass vbr settings. Also the speed of your computer makes a difference and varies with how long of a movie your trying to rip. A full screen dvd takes longer to rip than a widescreen one. So normally a hour and 1/2 long w.s movie takes me around 8 hours. Where a full screen one takes around 10. But quality is excellent. Each time your add a number to the multpass vbr setting..like going from 4 to 5..you add about another hour and half to time it will take. But quality will slightly improve with each step up..beyond 6 times multipass I feel is a litttle overkill and not worth the time wasted.
  #4  
Old Sep 19, 2002, 10:17 AM
ghosts_of_war ghosts_of_war is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 138
Default

It takes me about 10-24 hours depending on the size of the actual movie. But, I love using DVD2SVCD. Follow the guide at doom9.net and you'll be fine...
  #5  
Old Sep 20, 2002, 03:39 PM
Camel Toe Camel Toe is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Hemet, CA USA
Posts: 532
Default

I love using DVD2SVCD. I never had a single problem using it with CCE 2.50. The only changes I make are the number of CD's and the CD size. Before I start, I normally select LOAD from the MISC tab and load the standard SVCD or VCD settings before I start. 4 pass VBR with CCE and it's difficult to tell it apart from the original DvD.
  #6  
Old Sep 20, 2002, 11:50 PM
LiL C LiL C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 152
Default

it sux
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD2SVCD works then I have trouble burning with NERO. HELP!!!! vingathebeekeeper VideoCD 2 Dec 20, 2003 02:47 AM
I/O error with DVD2SVCD and problem with DVDX (no NFO file?!?) qxe900 VideoCD 1 Aug 07, 2003 09:21 AM
DVD2SVCD Question Tom Croydon VideoCD 3 Jul 01, 2003 01:06 PM
How Do I Save Bin And Cue In Dvd2svcd bigjonnyauk VideoCD 2 Feb 21, 2003 02:55 PM
Dvd2svcd Knight VideoCD 1 Jun 08, 2002 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved