CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Legacy Game Backup > Dreamcast
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old Mar 08, 2002, 12:14 PM
yuny14u yuny14u is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 790
Default

sponsored links

 
i found out this is news server
news.earthlink.net
what do i do next?
  #62  
Old Mar 08, 2002, 05:59 PM
Spanky4612 Spanky4612 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 16
Default

Is there any way of using the newsgroups with software that does not need to update windows system files?
  #63  
Old Mar 10, 2002, 10:55 AM
DaveMode DaveMode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 470
Default

Although I don't use grabit myself, there should be a place for you to enter your news server address (sometimes called nntp.. or is it nttp.. address) during the installation process.. or the first time you run the program. Put your earthlink news server address in and then it should load up the newsgroups you have access to. Once you get going, you should be able to download a game in about 30 to 90 miniutes.
  #64  
Old Mar 11, 2002, 12:17 AM
Beam Beam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Springdale, AR
Posts: 35
Default

This was a great "tutorial" thanks for everyones input. I just got grabit, but I am having problems. Any group I go to, there is never any yellow dots! I have turned all the dots on to show up, yellow, blue, red, even the ones with the checks and x's through them, but I only ever get blue or red.
I cannot find any binaries on my list. Is it my news server? I am sure there must be some legal downloads that would show up in some group.
I have tried several different groups, dreamcast, then some news and programming groups, but never a yellow dot
Is it a filter of some sort I have turned on, or my server? I have just moved to Belgium from the States and I have telenet (newsserver being news.telenet.be)
Thanks in advance for the help.

Beam

BTW I have the new version of grabit 1.4.1 Beta (could this be the issue?)
  #65  
Old Mar 11, 2002, 06:37 PM
skillz45 skillz45 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 108
Default

im using bellsouth fast access how do i find my ips im using the same prog grabit what site do i goto or where can i find a server to use im new at this please help
  #66  
Old Mar 11, 2002, 07:20 PM
DC Fisherman DC Fisherman is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: US
Posts: 1,228
Default

u can go to their web site to find out, or just call them.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best room on DIRECT CONNECT for movies? MAX POWER VideoCD 0 Nov 09, 2002 05:58 AM
direct connect, sharing files? [; ; winXP] brad8314 Windows XP 4 Nov 02, 2002 04:00 PM
Direct Connect Problem jbg Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Oct 02, 2002 04:01 AM
Other sites like Direct Connect? shakamaker1973 Open to All Computer Related Topics 11 Sep 28, 2002 11:04 PM
Direct Connect Question ssmacc Consumer's Opinion 3 Sep 06, 2002 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved