CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 29, 2003, 07:13 PM
Yoshi19 Yoshi19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 78
Default FSB and RAM speed

sponsored links

 
Should my RAM speed by the same in MHz as the FSB speed? Could i use DDR SDRAM 400 MHz on an VIA KT400 chipset with an Athlon XP 333 MHz FSB? Is the VIA KT400 chipset have the capability of operating at 400 MHz FSB, but the Athlon XP can only go to 333 MHz FSB, so the VIA KT400 chipset is made only to be able to take advantage of 400 MHz FSB when the Athlon XP in the future supports that FSB speed of 400 MHz? So for now, the VIA KT333 chipset would perform just as well as the VIA KT400 chipset with the same CPU and RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Apr 30, 2003, 10:19 AM
Ronaldsoft Ronaldsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 322
Default

all KT400 mobo's i've worked with allow you to set the CPU FSB 100/133/166 and MEMORY BUS 133/166/200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 30, 2003, 01:32 PM
DIABLO DIABLO is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,082
Default

You will be able to run the FSB at 166/333MHz and the memory bus at 200/400 but you will gain little by doing that it's better to keep the FSB and the memory bus the same and if you 400MHz ram you will be underclocking it but you will be able to run really fast memory timings which will give a increase in performance and also it will give you some head room if you plan on overclocking your cpu.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should you match your FSB with your Ram speed? + Q's DTUK Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Aug 25, 2003 07:14 PM
p4 2.53 vs p4 2.4 w/ HT 800mhz fsb Wopah Consumer's Opinion 3 Jul 30, 2003 12:00 PM
question about FSB and Ram _0-0_ Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Jul 26, 2003 06:44 PM
FSB speed and performance Yoshi19 Consumer's Opinion 1 May 18, 2003 08:21 AM
Modem conflicts w/fsb speed data35 Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Aug 07, 2002 01:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved