CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 07:17 PM
weehawk weehawk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 54
Default Boot up failures Win 98se

sponsored links

 
I am getting the follwing error message when turning PC on

Primary Master 3.05 ST36422a

Ultra DMA Mode-2 S.M.A.R.T Capable but disabled.

I then get a boot failure message saying reboot and select proper boot device, or insert boot media in selected boot device, press any key to continue.

The problem is obviously with my floppy disk drive, as i am not getting a light when trying to boot up. Do i get a new floppy drive or can i somehow bypass the floppy drive to boot up? I have tried hitting every F key but cant get any other reaction from the PC other than what is said above.

Please help.
Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 08:19 PM
zedy zedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 423
Default

I cannot see that the problem is 'obviously' with your floppy drive unless you have set your bios to ONLY boot from floppy.
More likely is the fact that your hard drive has died.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 08:21 PM
weehawk weehawk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 54
Default

So How can i tell if it is the hard drive? as far as i know
the PC should boot from the HD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 08:30 PM
C0UGAR UK C0UGAR UK is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,413
Default

It sounds like the machine is having a hard time reading the boot sector info from the HDD. Go into CMOS and auto detect the HDD and arrange boot sequence, you can 'bypass' the floppy by disabling boot up floppy seek

Have you SATA or RAID
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 08:45 PM
weehawk weehawk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 54
Default

Sorry Cougar, you got me there! How do you get into CMOS? and does
this give me the option to auto detect the HDD.

cheers Hawk.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 14, 2004, 09:06 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

Not sure how you arrived at conclusion that the floppy is faulty? Anyway, if memory serves then your hard drive is a 6.4 Gb Seagate. It may be that it is wounded or MIA, I can't see a floppy drive being the problem but if you want to check ...

Go into the BIOS when you start the machine, usually done by holding down the "del" key straight after you switch on. Have a nosey around until you find the "boot sequence" and set it to boot from IDE hard drive as first boot device, this will take the floppy out of the loop and so prove whether or not the floppy is at fault.

Take it from there then post back ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pioneer 104 and win 98se d1ggler DVD 3 Nov 20, 2002 09:49 AM
LINUX - WIN 2000 Server, dual boot Willy2eagles Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Oct 15, 2002 05:57 PM
need a menu driven boot disc for win 98/me and xp oosyadaddy2 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jul 14, 2002 06:22 PM
Problems Changing OS to Win 2k Pro RZA Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Jul 08, 2002 05:21 PM
Dual Boot ( Win Me and Xp) M_rsa Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 May 08, 2002 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved