CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - Xbox
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 03, 2005, 05:16 PM
silent sniper silent sniper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: newyork
Posts: 153
Default would this work?

sponsored links

 
if i was to take another xbox, install an exploit on it so an auto installer would boot from the cd, remove the hard drive while the system is on and then install the ms dashboard to a new and bigger hdd do you guys think this method would work? or will it badly hurt the hdd or xbox itself? thank you
  #2  
Old Feb 04, 2005, 10:27 AM
sadalius sadalius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: http://www.teammodders.com
Posts: 213
Default

It would work if you could hot swap the drive, in other words, the drive would at least have to be powered up before switching the IDE cable. You can't have one drive powered up and switch the IDE cable and the power cable, the system would either lock up, shut down, or cause somebad corruption on the disk, or disks. I am assuming your also talking about a softmod as well. I use Ltools with a computer, after installing an exploit on the xbox, with evox I run the back up command to get the eeprom.bin file and get a copy of the c and e drive on my computer. Then I make the Ltools boot disk with my c and e and eeprom.bin file along the ude 1.4 package in their appropriate places. I install the blank hd in the computer with no other hard drives and boot the Ltools disk then I follow the instructions included with the Ltools download files and build a new disk from scratch. Then reboot and run the ude command to install the exploit, bios loader, bios and dashboard of choice. reboot again, this time choosing linux with locking and unlocking tools and run the command to lock the hard drive with your eeprom.bin file. Once it's done, shut everything down, put your computer back the way it was, install the new hd into the xbox and enjoy.
  #3  
Old Feb 04, 2005, 10:35 PM
silent sniper silent sniper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: newyork
Posts: 153
Default

WoW thx alot for your reply sad. Ill try and see if i can do your method.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick won't work dazco Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Apr 28, 2004 04:32 PM
naplink, linux, with bba adapter does NOT work with unmodded ps2 neverMindNames Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Nov 09, 2003 08:10 PM
DVD copying problem - works fine on one player won't work on others mart0406 DVD 4 Jul 03, 2003 06:28 PM
Can't get a Flash chip to work, but OTP's work fine barracuda Video Game Backup - Xbox 7 Sep 03, 2002 06:58 PM
do all dc backups work on all dc systems THEGURU19 Dreamcast 9 Apr 19, 2002 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved