CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > DOS
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 14, 2002, 03:30 AM
meek_imp meek_imp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Default Cannot create C: drive [Toshiba; 100CS; dos]

sponsored links

 
OK....i did a low level format on my hard drive using the correct Seagate utility. So i boot up with a DOS bootdisk and go into Fdisk.
Under partition information it says 1 current fixed disk drive with no partitions defined. Now if i go in and create a primary DOS partition and set it active, then go into the partition information screen, it says that it is created and set active. SO far so good.
Now when i quit from Fdisk, it tells me to insert a DOS system disk into drive a:........is this the same thing as a bootdisk??? When i put my bootdisk in it reboots into DOS no problem, but then there is no c: drive. If i type c: at the prompt it says invalid drive specification. When i go into Fdisk it says there are no partitions defined.
Do i need to use a different utility from Fdisk?? Or have i totally fu**ed something up??

Thanks in advance.
  #2  
Old May 14, 2002, 03:31 AM
Roger Moore Roger Moore is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,897
Default

Run FDISK and create the partition. Then set it as active and reboot.

Boot into DOS with your boot disk and FORMAT c:

format c: /s

That will format c: then you will be able to use it.


Roger
  #3  
Old May 14, 2002, 03:41 AM
sickmanofasia sickmanofasia is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 732
Default

meek_imp you did every thing right except you changed dir just format c:
as roger moore says
  #4  
Old May 14, 2002, 03:44 AM
Roger Moore Roger Moore is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,897
Default

The format process can take a long time so if it is taking a while don't worry.

Just incase you didn't know the switch /s (not supported in ME and above) will copy system files to your hard drive.

You could just do format c: if you wanted to.


Roger
  #5  
Old May 14, 2002, 04:30 AM
meek_imp meek_imp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Default

Okay i did exactly as told.....exited FDisk...the first thing i type at the DOS promt A:\> ......is the following.......

format c: /s

All it says is invalid drive specification.

It appears that when i exit Fdisk and boot back into DOS it is not retaining the settings created in Fdisk.
  #6  
Old May 14, 2002, 05:05 AM
Roger Moore Roger Moore is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,897
Default

If thats the case it sounds like FDISK can't write to the HD.

Do you have boot sector virus protection enabled in the BIOS?


Roger
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a hard drive, NTFS or FAT32 StandardBMX Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jan 09, 2006 08:26 AM
drive letter issue twankster Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Mar 03, 2004 09:21 AM
Hard drive auto-installer evox.ini help pls Stusy Video Game Backup - Xbox 7 Nov 23, 2003 03:50 PM
SLOOOOOW F Drive Memphis Video Game Backup - Xbox 1 May 24, 2003 06:51 PM
Can you lock your upgraded HD on a v1.1? If so How? Plummy Video Game Backup - Xbox 3 Jan 11, 2003 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved