CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 12:42 AM
noamkrief noamkrief is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Default recenty installed xp - "no updates vailible" from MS updates.

sponsored links

 
i recetly installed winXP and activated it and everytime i go to windows update, it tells me there are no updates.
I know there should be at least 6 or maybe more updates. Security updates are what i'm really worried about.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 01:02 AM
dgb1891 dgb1891 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 558
Default

I've been getting the same message for almost a month now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 01:09 AM
noamkrief noamkrief is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Default

have you tried calling in and asking what's up?
I have another computer with xp sahring the same connection that gets the updates just fine.. Security updates, language options and even driver updates...

I don't feel like reformatting that computer even though i think it would help

Any one know why this is happening?
Maybe a security setting in IE?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 03:32 AM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Are you using one of the *leaked* corporate XP keys?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 03:49 AM
crackpot76 crackpot76 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 260
Default

are you using a leaked key if so change it the other thing do not use update wizard it as abug in it it dose not work that is one of the critical updates in total i think thre are 14 critical updates
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 17, 2002, 06:37 AM
Richskie Richskie is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 880
Default

I've found recently if I use the update wizard (shortcut on start menu) it says there are no updates. If I go via the [URL=********v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp]website it finds them.

Last edited by Richskie; Aug 17, 2002 at 06:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved