CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - Xbox
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 10:01 AM
deniro-s deniro-s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 174
Default could you put 2 HDD's if you take out dvd drive?

sponsored links

 
I've seen tutorials on how to have 3 HDD's connected, but only 1 can be active at once. I know you can only have 2 devices per IDE chain, but is there anything that says the XBOX has to have a dvd drive and a hard drive connected? I know its pretty useless to have an xbox without a dvd drive, but I'm just curious as to if you did put a hard drive in place of the dvd drive would it work? This way you could have 2 x 120 gig drives, and when you want to play a non-backup game not on the hard drive you could make some sort of switch to go between the dvdrom + HDD and HDD + HDD setups.

I'm curious about this because I have an extra 20 gig hard drive, and I've got no room for it in my pc, so instead of just letting it sit there I'm trying to find a use for it. I'll probably end up selling it on ebay, but I'll get next to nothing for a 20 gig drive nowadays. Anyway, just wondering if anyone kows if this would work. I can see why it wouldn't but yet again I could also see why it could, and before I start hacking up my box I thought I would check. Thanks for the advice.
  #2  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 02:49 PM
dylan tracy dylan tracy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: westfield mass
Posts: 771
Default

thats a good idea but not to practicle
it would work i think
  #3  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 05:38 PM
moddogs moddogs is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 1,221
Default

If it works, that would be great. Just imagine 2 120s and just use FTP to transfer files to your Xbox!!

Keen idea!
  #4  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 11:39 PM
BILL YATES BILL YATES is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,200
Default

i thought the xbox could only handle like 137 gigs
  #5  
Old Feb 11, 2003, 12:12 AM
L337 |-|axor L337 |-|axor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: :beer: :beer: :beer:
Posts: 392
Default

he'll be switching between hdds so it wont matter
  #6  
Old Feb 11, 2003, 12:22 AM
saintgames saintgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Burlington, Vermont USA
Posts: 185
Default

Check this out... 411GB of storage.... Hummm makes you think!

********208.34.209.68/411gb/411gb.htm
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help Just Got My First DVD Writable drive gjac1 DVD 6 Feb 19, 2004 08:26 AM
NEW InterVideo DVD Copy! Lazza DVD 5 Jun 04, 2003 06:36 AM
How to put DVD Region X - Version 2 onto X-BOX Hard Drive? litfoo Video Game Backup - Xbox 6 Sep 16, 2002 04:30 PM
Installed Enigmah BUT no Audio or Video and DVD wont open?? Plz Help marsbarbabe Xbox Modchip Help & Installation 11 Jul 27, 2002 09:41 PM
DVD roylties donglinx DVD 0 Mar 22, 2002 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved