CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows XP
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:04 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default Weird Problem with slave drive [; ; winXP]

sponsored links

 
I've got an athlon 2200+ system runnign a WD 120gb SE drive on the master and just bought a standard 120gb Caviar drive (2mb rather than 8mb) for my xbox but before i put it in there i was going to back up my data and do a clean re install of the orginal pc drive.

The thing is I've put the jumpers for the two drives in their correct positions- master with slave attached for the 120gb SE and slave for the standard 120gb.

The bios sees the two hard drvies, and i can see both drives in the device manager, but the slave drive doesn't appear on windows explorer/my computer.

what have i done wrong?

my master drive is paritioned 40/80 so appears as two seprate drives. So i have the 40gb partition as drive c, 80gb parition on drive d, dvd drive on e and cdwriter on f.

supposed to take the second drive to have it fitted tomorrow so help needed asap-

thanks guys!!


Last edited by nimbles; Jul 11, 2003 at 02:06 PM.
  #2  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:06 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

Is the new drive partitioned?
  #3  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:07 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

no its completely new unformatted just taken it out of its wrapping
  #4  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:09 PM
BlackDiamondJr BlackDiamondJr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 628
Default

You can partition and format it under Computer Management in Administrative Tools.
  #5  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:11 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by BlackDiamondJr [/i]
[B]You can partition and format it under Computer Management in Administrative Tools. [/B]
Boldly assuming that this man has XP then ...

The drive needs to be partitioned to be visible to windows.
  #6  
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:13 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

cheers mate that did the trick i didn't initalise the drive- didn't know how to do that

cheers once again BlackDiamondJr


problem solved in 8minutes- got to be some sort of record!!

Last edited by nimbles; Jul 11, 2003 at 02:16 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd hard drive problem [; ; win98SE] burnout Windows 98 1 Jan 08, 2003 02:40 AM
adding a second slave hard drive using WinXP [; ; winXP] dark_camel Windows XP 1 Nov 15, 2002 07:33 AM
master slave question [lite-on; 48x12x48; winXP] illtbagu3 CD-R & CD-RW 16 Aug 27, 2002 02:56 AM
Weird problem with CD-ROM Reader Camel Toe CD-R & CD-RW 9 Feb 02, 2002 10:19 PM
help! problem w/DOS drivers for external CD-ROM drive openszme Device Driver Questions 3 Jan 31, 2002 03:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved