CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 02, 2003, 06:55 PM
VeniVidiVici VeniVidiVici is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 141
Default Need help w/ my new Netgear router...

sponsored links

 
I just went out and bought a new Netgear 4 port router(RP614) and I'm having trouble trying to set it up so i can play starcraft on both my computers. It won't let me open port 6112 on both computers, only 1 at a time, so I'm wondering if any of you guys know how to configure this so it works correctly. Also, its for Warcraft 3 since in order to invite for an arranged team game, you need to have the port open.

Does anybody know how to configure the router to get this to work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 03, 2003, 03:16 AM
Richskie Richskie is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 880
Default

I presume its the port forwarding you are trying to set up.

Yes you can only set it for 1 ip address. The idea is that any traffic the router receives on that port it will forward to the given ip address.

You only need to do this if you are hosting a server for access over the 'net. In which case set the ip address as that of the server pc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 03, 2003, 04:25 PM
VeniVidiVici VeniVidiVici is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 141
Default

For starcraft/warcraft u need it to play games... so u cant port forward on both comps? that sux
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 03, 2003, 10:23 PM
Islasian4Life Islasian4Life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 141
Default

VeniVidiVici,

This is taken from the side window(on the right) of your setup wizard for port forwarding....on the RP614 router......


To setup an additional computer to play, for example Hexen II or KALI:

1. Click the button of Add Custom Service .

2. Type the service name in the Service Name box.

3. Type the beginning port number in the Starting Port box.

4. For these games, use the supplied number in the default listing and add
+1 for each additional computer.

[b]For example, if you've already configured one computer to play Hexen II using port 26900, the second computer's port number would be 26901, the third computer's port number would be 26902.[/b]

5. Type the same port number in the Ending Port box.

6. Type the IP address of the computer in the Server IP Address box.

7. Click Apply button.

HTH

Islasian4life
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 04, 2003, 01:14 AM
VeniVidiVici VeniVidiVici is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 141
Default

ya i had read that... but was confused a bit... lol... so which IP do i put it as? the one that will be using the first port?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 04, 2003, 02:59 AM
Islasian4Life Islasian4Life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 141
Default

Lets say, you have 3 computers that want to play your starcraft/warcraft game......

1st computer would use port: 6112 IP 192.168.0.2

2nd computer would use port: 6113 IP 192.168.0.3

3rd computer would use port: 6114 IP 192.168.0.4

and so on.......


put the IP address of the computer that's going to be using the port in the [b]Server IP Address[/b], put the same [b]Service Name[/b] for all the connections. The Start Port/End Port would be the same numbers.

But, if that port you listed(6112) is the only port you can use to play that game, then you're outta luck. You can only assign 1 port # per IP address.

HTH....

Islasian4Life
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear RP614 - Wired Router Lazza Consumer's Opinion 11 Nov 04, 2003 05:08 PM
Which Router Whophopo Consumer's Opinion 1 Oct 16, 2003 02:34 PM
router finally worked... but what happened??? dfarrales Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Apr 16, 2003 01:20 PM
Netgear MR315 Wireless Router Desticado Computer Networking & Security 0 Aug 09, 2002 10:00 AM
Netgear Router RP114 monkey1300 Open to All Computer Related Topics 10 Jul 15, 2002 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved