CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 23, 2002, 09:34 PM
andymac746 andymac746 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Newcastle U.K
Posts: 442
Unhappy Toshiba Satellite pro Bios Password

sponsored links

 
Got a Toshiba Sattelite pro 6100 pentium 4 1.7 ghz but cannot use it as ive locked myself out of the lappie as ive forgot the bios password as soon as i switch it on i get the password prompt!!!??

Does anyone have any info on how to get around it!!??

please

thanks

andymac
  #2  
Old Jun 24, 2002, 09:31 PM
Hoss Hoss is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: North Coast of the US on Lake Erie
Posts: 10,288
Default

I'm not real familiar wiht laptops but I'll give this a bump aroound.
If it was a desktop here's what I'd do though... open the case and remove the CMOS Battery for a few minutes and then replace it. This will clear all saved info in the BIOS.
  #3  
Old Jun 25, 2002, 12:05 AM
Badidoh Badidoh is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA-STKN
Posts: 1,306
Default

I've tried the cmos way on one of my computer, didn't work
So I tried the jumper way, works good.
  #4  
Old Jun 28, 2002, 08:00 AM
andymac746 andymac746 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Newcastle U.K
Posts: 442
Default

Remove the battery nothing happens and there r no jumpers on the board!!

andymac
  #5  
Old Jun 28, 2002, 08:45 AM
DNRC DNRC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Yarmouth, Norfolk, England
Posts: 440
Default

Try contacting toshiba or looking on their website, but i think you will find that you will have to open it up, remove the CMOS battery for a while (5-10 mins) and put it back together. I had the same problem on a compaq laptop once and that was how i fixed it
  #6  
Old Jun 28, 2002, 05:21 PM
Vamps Vamps is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 311
Default

You need to remove the back up cell and short the pins together, this will clear the bios, short the pins for about 30 to 60 seconds to make sure.

Alternatively there is a password removal plus that you plug into the comms port and when you boot the machine the password will dissapear and it should give you the option to change your bios/cmos settings
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quatro Pro 10 Password Problem LiNkZ Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Jun 01, 2003 11:19 PM
tiny pc bios password mobilehustla Open to All Computer Related Topics 11 Mar 11, 2003 11:34 PM
toshiba admin password win me DEVLINOUK Computer Networking & Security 3 Sep 27, 2002 05:01 PM
Upgrade BIOS under Windows XP Pro? ssmacc Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jul 03, 2002 05:23 AM
cpu for k7s5a mother board lhys09915 Consumer's Opinion 8 May 20, 2002 02:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved