CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 10:10 AM
ebbsfleetgooner ebbsfleetgooner is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default Pioneer 106

sponsored links

 
Newbie please be gentle with me!

Just ordered a Pioneer 106 72 + vat and delivery from ebuyer to back up films.

My question is which drive should I remove to enable me to install the Pioneer 106 my existing pioneer DVD rom or my Liteon 12x cd writer

Will my existing copy of Nero (ver 5.5.10.0) work ok

Thanks
  #2  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 11:46 AM
kev269 kev269 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 148
Default

i have a cd-writer on E: drive and had my Pioneer DVD-ROM on F: drive.

i took out the pioneer dvd-rom and put the pioneer 106 in it's place, but i think as long as you match the jumper setting on the 106 to the drive you take out, then it should ok whatever drive you take out, i think. the jumper setting is the little plastic thing which you can take off. maybe someone else can explain better.
  #3  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 11:46 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

Definatly the Lite-On 12X CDRW, I mean the 106 can write at 16x.

Is your copy of Nero OEM from the Lite-On? If so it won't work.

Last edited by celtic_druid; Nov 15, 2003 at 03:24 PM.
  #4  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 11:58 AM
ebbsfleetgooner ebbsfleetgooner is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default

i have a copy of nero that came with the Liteon and a copy that came bundled with my laptop do you think the laptop copy would work?

Thanks
  #5  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 12:16 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Just do as celtic_druid has suggested, the dvd rom will be very useful for on the fly if your system specs are up 2 it, one point though make sure your DVD rom and DVD burner are on different IDE ribbons, put the DVD rom and the Harddrive on IDE 1 and the burner on IDE 2, you can download the latest trial version of nero 6 from Ahead's web site, the bundled versions only work with the burner thats fitted with the bundle. good price BTW for the 106
  #6  
Old Nov 15, 2003, 01:53 PM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

Yup that and it will put less wear and tear on your DVD Burner.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SVP Pioneer 106 owners look in Dave2986 Consumer's Opinion 7 Oct 23, 2003 02:57 PM
upgrade pioneer 105 to 106 54az DVD 5 Oct 15, 2003 05:39 PM
Strange RecordNow Max Problem With Pioneer 106 frentzen Video Game Backup - PS2 8 Oct 08, 2003 04:54 PM
Pioneer 106 Queuing Failure goldfishtrad DVD 0 Aug 11, 2003 09:08 AM
pioneer 106 swbono DVD 16 Nov 22, 2002 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved