CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows XP
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 02:59 PM
Semtex Semtex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 284
Default Upgrading my PC (Clueless!!!!) [Compaq; Presario 5000; winXP]

sponsored links

 
Hi, trying to weigh up the pros and cons of a) upgrading my pc or b) getting a brand new one....

Unfortunately when it comes to PC hardware I'm absolutely clueless!!!!!

I have a Compaq Presario 5000 Series - 1.1MHz, 384Mb DDRAM and 30Gb HD.

Can anyone make any recommendations as to upgrades I could make? - Would ideally like a new processor and a lot more HD space but I really don't know where to start - the Compaq website and the PC manual itself seem pretty vague...

Any help would be much appreciated!!!!

  #2  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 03:20 PM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Semtex,

Any idea what Presario 5000 model it is? there a few such as 5000T, J, V all with different specs. This will help with the CPU upgrade and HD upgrade as well.

In effect the HD is easier as most OS's will support 120gb or so but the bios on the mobo may not, so this will need to be checked.

HTH, T.
  #3  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 03:20 PM
Mr Snatcher Mr Snatcher is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,430
Default

Need to find out what board you have and the type and speed it can handle. There is usaully a serial # or model # on it. If you email compaq tech support they would be able to give you the specs. Or you can search on google. You just add a hard drive and have 2, connect the other as a slave. Your ram is ddr at 384 mb, which seems desent. What is your prcesor a celeron, p4 or amd?
  #4  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 03:55 PM
Semtex Semtex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 284
Default

Right, bit more info for you guys....

The exact model number of my PC is Presario 5WV296

It's an AMD processor I currently have

I upgraded the memory myself to 384Mb (probably about my limit of expertise!!!)
  #5  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 04:16 PM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Not for long you brainless idiot..

Goodbye again
  #6  
Old Oct 16, 2003, 04:21 PM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

semtex,

searched on google and hp and found no help.

try asking compaq/hp for some details of the PC spec - all i can find is that it will take about double the RAM you have.

Cheers, T.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shutting down Presario 4716.... [compaq; presario; win98SE] StevenrayXXX Windows 98 0 Mar 30, 2004 02:08 AM
128MB SDRAM, PC133 help [Compaq; Presario 3550; winXP] XMSBX Windows XP 2 Mar 08, 2004 06:02 PM
Errors on start up [Compaq; Pesario 5000; winXP] MamaKin Windows XP 4 Jun 14, 2003 05:27 PM
How do i play video game consoles though PC monitor? [Compaq; 5000 series; winXP] parle Windows XP 3 May 19, 2003 01:48 PM
Motherboard upgrade [Compaq Presario; 5900T; win98] kycats Windows 98 1 Jun 11, 2002 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved