CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 03:48 PM
RPotaczala RPotaczala is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 203
Default Updating Bios?

sponsored links

 
I was told if i updated my bios i could install more recent ram sticks. Like two 512mb SDRAM sticks to give me a total of 1gig instead of havin a cap on it at 512.

I also want more options on my bios settings. Right now i have very lil options i cant even edit AGP properties(i wana change the AGP properties to 128 cuz its my video card type not 64 as it is set*see blow on Mobo chipset*).

Does anyone know where i can download the drivers for my motherboard/bios?

Here is the information i have on my bios/motherboard.

Thanks!

---------------------------------------------------------------
MotherBoard
---------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 09/28/2001-I815 -TUSL-LV
Motherboard Name Unknown

Front Side Bus Properties
Bus Type Intel GTL+
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 100 MHz
Effective Clock 100 MHz
Bandwidth 800 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties
Bus Type Intel Hub Interface
Bus Width 8-bit

-----------------------------------------------------------------
MotherBoard Chip Set
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset Intel Solano i815E
In-Order Queue Depth 4
CAS Latency 2T
RAS To CAS Delay 2T
RAS Precharge 2T
RAS Active Time 5T

Integrated Graphics Controller
Graphics Controller Type Intel i752
Graphics Controller Status Disabled

AC'97 Audio Controller
Audio Controller Type Intel 82801BA(M) ICH2X/M
Codec Name ****og Devices AD1881A
Codec ID 41445348h

Memory Slots
DRAM Slot #1 256 MB (SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 128 MB (SDRAM)

AGP Properties
AGP Version 2.00
AGP Status Enabled
AGP Aperture Size 64 MB
Supported AGP Speeds 1x, 2x, 4x
Current AGP Speed 4x
Fast-Write Not Supported
Side Band Addressing Supported, Disabled

Chipset Manufacturer
Company Name Intel Corporation

----------------------------------------------------------------
Bios Information
----------------------------------------------------------------

BIOS Properties
BIOS Type Award Medallion
Award BIOS Type Award Modular BIOS v6.0
Award BIOS Message ACPI BIOS Revision 1002LV
System BIOS Date 09/28/01
Video BIOS Date 10/25/02

BIOS Manufacturer
Company Name Phoenix Technologies Ltd.

Problems & Suggestions
Suggestion System BIOS is more than 2 years old. Update it if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 08:08 PM
Harry O Harry O is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,620
Default Re: Updating Bios?

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by RPotaczala [/i]
[B]I was told if i updated my bios i could install more recent ram sticks. Like two 512mb SDRAM sticks to give me a total of 1gig instead of havin a cap on it at 512....[/B]
Who told you this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 08:53 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Re: Updating Bios?

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Harry O [/i]
[B]Who told you this? [/B]
ROTFLMAO!!!

Nice one Harry

Rbuttockseller, have a read [url=***********.firmware.com/sales/faqs/misconceptions.htm]here
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 09:47 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

@ Rbuttockseller.^^



'Tis the season to be jolly. [img]***********.click-smilies.de/sammlung0903/weihnachten/xmas-smiley-003.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 10:32 PM
copyright copyright is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 693
Default

Quote:
I also want more options on my bios settings. Right now i have very lil options i cant even edit AGP properties(i wana change the AGP properties to 128 cuz its my video card type not 64 as it is set
You AGP Aperture size doesnt relate to what kind of video card you have diredtly. Have a look for some more info.

***********.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=8&var1=0&var2=32
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Dec 11, 2003, 11:01 PM
RPotaczala RPotaczala is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 203
Default

So where can i download the update online? I know i can order a diskette from places online(***********.esupport.com/biosupgrades/) but where online can i just download it instead of ordering a disk? I can always download and make a disk instead of ordering one and paying for shipping.

Also will updating allow me to install more memory? Or not?
Thank you Copyright for the AGP Aperture Size.

I still wana update for the recent advancements in technology over the 3yrs. Even if i dont get new features.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Bios to D.6 Slomar Video Game Backup - Xbox 3 Mar 17, 2003 06:39 AM
Updating EvoX2.4 bios to EvoX2.5 bios. How?? xga Video Game Backup - Xbox 3 Oct 29, 2002 09:20 AM
Updating EvoX2.4 bios to EvoX2.5 bios. How?? xga Xbox Modchip Help & Installation 0 Oct 29, 2002 02:05 AM
updating my bios FOTH'S Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Jun 29, 2002 07:35 AM
cpu for k7s5a mother board lhys09915 Consumer's Opinion 8 May 20, 2002 03:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved