CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows ME
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 07:51 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Exclamation installin win 2000 pro help plz. [compaq; ; winME]

sponsored links

 
im trying to install windows 2000 professional from a clean install. as my computer does not support boot from CD-ROM i created the 4 boot disks. i partitioned and the formatted the hard drive (western 20GB) without no problems (I chose to use the FAT32 file format) then once the files have been copied to the installation folder, the comp reboots.

then i get an error message, "NTLDR is missing, press any key to restart".
wen i press any key to restart, the same error message appears.

anybody wanna help me out please? i need help on this ASAP!!!!


thanks.
  #2  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 08:02 AM
green_blade green_blade is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Somewhere In England
Posts: 2,175
Default

What do you mean when you say your PC doesn't support boot from CD ROM ?

You should be able to change the boot sequence from within BIOS to boot from CD first.
  #3  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 08:03 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

i got a new 20 GB hard drive (western) and the software on it doesn't not allow me to boot straight from cd without using boot disk. can u help me with the above?

i already change the boot squence to the following:
1)cd-rom
2)Floopy drive
3)Hard drive
  #4  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 08:05 AM
green_blade green_blade is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Somewhere In England
Posts: 2,175
Default

Still don't follow, if you've formatted the drive, there's no software on there.
  #5  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 08:06 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

ok. i got a new 20GB hard drive. i created four boot disks to install windows 2000 professional. if it did support boot from cd-rom, u fink i would of used the bootdisks?
  #6  
Old Feb 26, 2003, 08:14 AM
Secoast Secoast is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 160
Default

The HD doesn't affect booting , it's controlled by the BIOS and should boot from the Win2K disk.

This doesn't really matter because the Boot Floppies do the same job, just slower.

It may be a partitioning problem. I would certainly choose to partition after the install with Partion Magic instead of from setup, 100% more reliable and practical. Partition Magic 6 will function with Win2K and costs a pittance on Ebay.


Secoast
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i format in win 2000 pro ? rob_5 Open to All Computer Related Topics 10 Nov 28, 2003 07:52 AM
Win 2000 Pro MR2-UK Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 May 18, 2003 06:37 PM
auto insert notification win 2000 pro wasp23 DVD 1 Jan 06, 2003 10:14 AM
Win XP Pro better than Win 2000 Pro? MrBean2002 Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Jun 21, 2002 12:47 AM
ASPI probs with Win 2000 NT pro [; ; win2KPro] The Flying Dutchman CD-R & CD-RW 2 Jun 15, 2002 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved