CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 06:07 PM
aznkidlee aznkidlee is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 598
Default no solder mod chip v5/6

sponsored links

 
Are these the same chip? According to ***********.gamegizmo.com/index.php?sID=4&dID=34 they are slightly different.

I just got a no solder v5 mod chip and I plugged it into my PS2; it doesn't work. So I assumed that I got the wrong chip.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 11:29 PM
chipinstaller chipinstaller is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 231
Default

Make sure your ps2 is version 5, if its version 6 then it wont work. Match your ps2's connector board.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 11, 2003, 11:14 AM
Raypreston Raypreston is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 33
Default

Hi

I have plug in chips available that will work in V4, V5, V6 and V7 if you want one....

Ray (ray@christalclear.co.uk)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 11, 2003, 12:21 PM
littlepr littlepr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: fairport, ny usa
Posts: 994
Default

Aznkidlee,

What type of boot disc are you using? Did the ribbons snug/fit in smoothly
all th way in the nosolder slots?

Also, make sure that the nosolder in plugged in correctly onto the board.

I hope you got the Swap Magic combo.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 11, 2003, 08:07 PM
aznkidlee aznkidlee is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 598
Default

What type of boot disc are you using?
I'm planning to use a GS2 v2.

Are the Swap Magic combo better than the GS2 v2?

I plugged the ribbon into the chip all the way. Then I plugged the chip into the PS2 all the way. When I go turn on my PS2 it won't turn on. So I assumed I have the wrong chip.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 12, 2003, 08:15 AM
littlepr littlepr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: fairport, ny usa
Posts: 994
Default

Take off the nosolder and try powering your ps2 up. If it powers up then that might be the case but I doubt it. After testing that it powers up without the nosolder, re-install the nosolder and then see if it powers up.

I do recommend the Swap magic discs. They are quicker and you only need to swap once with the Swap Magic dvd boot disc to boot dvdr backups. With the Gs2 you have to do a double swap ( DMC demo with large TOC or any other large TOC game) to get dvdr to work.

WARNING: Swap Magic cd boot disc can only boot games that are 650 mb (74min) in size. This setup cannot be used to boot dvd rips which are normally 700mb (80 min) rips of DVD games. But no need to worry about that because now you can get the full dvd copies and boot them with the Swap Magic dvd boot disc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mod chip for PS2 v4? huong23 PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 9 Jun 08, 2004 02:02 PM
Easiest to solder mod chip that boots all backups capitalcarnage Xbox Modchip Help & Installation 3 Nov 14, 2003 09:18 PM
No Solder, Plug-in Mod Chip for v4 PS2 question... CousinFizz Video Game Backup - PS2 6 Apr 10, 2003 12:29 AM
Is it possible for a mod chip to kill a PS2? aznkidlee Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Mar 03, 2003 08:26 PM
Matrix No solder Mod Review Zeus2k Xbox Modchip Help & Installation 24 Oct 16, 2002 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved