CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 10, 2002, 08:54 PM
ixnay099 ixnay099 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: homdel, nj usa
Posts: 405
Default All who need to know how to Boot DVD-R Games with a No-Solder and GS 2.01 look in

sponsored links

 
I have found out how to boot with the dongle and without the dongle here's how:

With Dongle:

1) Load AR2/GS2
2) At the main screen, press the eject button to open the tray (DO NOT HOLD THE EJECT BUTTON FOR THIS, YOU WANT THE PS2 TO KNOW YOU ARE CHANGING DISKS)
3) After the tray opens, swap the AR2/GS2 with a DVD ORIGINAL (can't use a copy for this step)
4) The DVD original you use in step 3 must be bigger than the DVD backup you want to load. As of right now, Devil May Cry (NTSC) is the biggest, but I use Soul Reaver 2 because I got it on sale and can boot all games except Devil May Cry and Dead or Alive 2. If you'd like a complete TOC list of DVD's email me.
5) After swapping the AR2/GS2 with a DVD original, press the eject button to close the tray and wait for about 10 - 15 seconds for the DVD to spin up allowing the TOC to be read.
6) Now select Gameshark Codes
7) Select Add New Game (you are going to make a fake code so you can boot your DVDR)
8) Type in DVDR (this will be the name of your fake code), select done
9) Type DUMMY 1, select done
10) Now the AR2/GS2 will take you to a screen to input values for your code you just made. You don't want to input anything here, so just select done. Now you have made a fake code to boot your DVDR. You only have to do this once. The code will be saved.
11) Now press O to go back to the code list and select DVDR.
12) Make sure DUMMY 1 has a checkmark in the box and press start.
13) Select with codes.
14) Now the AR2/GS2 will be asking you to swap disks but DON'T do it now.
15) Go ahead and press X. The screen will now say updating database. Press and HOLD the eject button. Swap the DVD oringinal with your backup DVDR. The tray will automatically close itself. You only have a few seconds to do this so you must be quick. After the tray closes, the DVDR will now load. Remember, you must press and HOLD the eject button IMMEDIATELY after pressing X or it will not work because you don't have much time. This sounds hard but it really isn't. After successfully doing this the first time, I've never had a problem. Also, you only have to make your fake DVDR code just once. The next time you want to boot a DVDR, you must UNSELECT DUMMY 1 so the AR2/GS2 will update the database allowing you enough time to swap the DVD original with your DVDR.

Without Dongle:

1. Place your GS2 v2.01 disc into the PS2 & press Reset.
2. At the "HARDWARE NOT DETECTED" Screen press start
3. Press O
4. Highlight OPTIONS and press X
5. Highlight RESET HARDWARE and press X
6. Press X to reset your GAMESHARK2 hardware
7. Highlight the GameShark Codes, but do not press X yet
8. Press eject & swap the GameShark disc for the original DMC disc (or other large TOC original DVD)
9. Press eject once more to close the drawer, then wait 10 seconds
10. Press X, then highlight ARMORED CORE 2 & press start
11. The screen should now say With Code/Without Code. Highlight With Code and press X
12. Press X again.
13. Hold down eject until the tray pops out, then swap the DVD with your DVD-R, and let the tray close on its own.
14. Press O to go back to main menu
15. Press X on Start Game
16. Press X on Without Codes
17. Press X again
18. Screen should go black and begin to boot up the DVD-R
  #2  
Old Jun 10, 2002, 09:22 PM
Vyse Vyse is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NA
Posts: 2,148
Default

oh man, it really does work
Someone else try this out, just to be sure.
  #3  
Old Jun 10, 2002, 09:59 PM
ccnextreme ccnextreme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 158
Default

it does work, but i have a v4. i think it doesn't work for v5 or above. can someone prove me wrong???
  #4  
Old Jun 10, 2002, 10:04 PM
beergut beergut is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 19
Default

The first method works on a V5, don't know about second. Will try it later.
  #5  
Old Jun 11, 2002, 01:43 AM
thegoatherder13 thegoatherder13 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: kentucky
Posts: 1,832
Default

Nice Job if it truly does work. Cant test it as i have a neo2. Anyway the 2nd method you listed is the way i boot my dvd-rs.. so its nothing new, just you are using it with the no solder mod
  #6  
Old Jun 11, 2002, 11:12 AM
beergut beergut is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 19
Default

No, second method won't work with V5.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved