CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Oct 06, 2002, 09:21 AM
Bgnome Bgnome is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 613
Default

sponsored links

 
did you enable ICS on the host computer?
  #8  
Old Oct 06, 2002, 11:25 PM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

Do you have two NICs in the host computer? One going to the modem and the other going to the other computer via the crossover cable? I'm going to move this the Networking and Security forum for you now. Also obviously the host computer must be on for access on the other computer.
  #9  
Old Oct 08, 2002, 10:29 AM
grae grae is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 268
Default

thanks. I have ICS enabled on the host computer, yes. I have an NIC in the host computer connected to the other computer, and my adsl modem is USB, so thats plugged into one of the usb ports. i'm still having no luck, although its now trying for a bit longer to connect, and when i tried to connect to google, it said Connecting to (IP Address) in the status bar rather than www.google.co.uk.
  #10  
Old Oct 09, 2002, 10:12 AM
NGA4LIFE NGA4LIFE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 46
Default

It's looking for the IP address of the NIC (the one used to network the 2 pc's) on your host computer, which is what it's supposed to do. I've never used ICS as I had read that it wasn't very good. So I don't know what or what it did not set up for you. On your client computer check :Interent Options/Connections/Lan Settings. The proxy server box should be ticked, with your IP(for the NIC on the host computer used to network the 2 PC's ) and port. Make sure they're the same IP address.
  #11  
Old Oct 10, 2002, 09:47 AM
grae grae is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 268
Default

cheers, all sorted now. i'm using ****ogx and was up and running in 5 minutes,
  #12  
Old Nov 04, 2002, 06:54 PM
the_oracle_uk the_oracle_uk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The UK
Posts: 317
Default

I once connected 2 comps win95 and win98 and somehow using no proxy software got them to share a net connection , but i think it was a one off.

also if you are adding more computers or want not to have to turn both on to get access consider a router.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW PS2 FAQ starting......Right here, come & add to it.... handyguy Video Game Backup - PS2 58 Mar 19, 2004 06:21 PM
Home network, Internet sharing OK, network not ok! Darkman Computer Networking & Security 5 Mar 03, 2004 06:39 PM
Can map network drive but not in Network Neighborhood! sfotter69 Computer Networking & Security 0 Dec 01, 2003 01:46 PM
Wired+Wireless home network purchasing recommendations... D001 Computer Networking & Security 2 Sep 04, 2003 10:00 PM
broadband network help erm_erm Computer Networking & Security 4 Jul 23, 2002 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved