CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 2000
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 09:34 AM
ScrotumPole ScrotumPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Angry ipconfig.exe doesn't work! [Soltek MoBo; 1.30AMD; win2KPro]

sponsored links

 
Hi Guys, I was having trouble with my cable modem & the support guy asked me to type command in "run" and then type ipconfig, but I get "bad file or command". He says my software is corrupted and that I should re-install Win2000 Prof. I don't really want to this if I can get away with it.

Any ideas on this guys?

Last edited by ScrotumPole; Feb 18, 2003 at 09:39 AM.
  #2  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 09:46 AM
nightheart nightheart is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: I wish I knew........
Posts: 653
Default

I think the guy meant to run it from a DOS windows. Somewhere in the start menu is the "command prompt" or "DOS prompt"command. I'm not sure which in win2000. Click it. From the prompt type "ipconfig."
  #3  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 10:18 AM
ScrotumPole ScrotumPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Default

Hi nightheart, you are right, it is run from a dos window - going to "run" & typing "command" brings up a dos shell. That bit works ok. It's when I type "ipconfig" I get the bad file or command message. Thanx for your input!
  #4  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 10:26 AM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Hi ScrotumPole,

Sometimes you have to go to the directory itself to run. So from the dos prompt go into C:\WINDOWS\system32 and then try running ipconfig from there.

HTH, T.
  #5  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 10:28 AM
ScrotumPole ScrotumPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Default

Hi TDF, thanx mate, I will try that!
  #6  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 12:57 PM
nightheart nightheart is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: I wish I knew........
Posts: 653
Default

sorry mate, my bad.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my 16x NEC writer only burns some disks at 8x vorbis CD-R & CD-RW 13 May 06, 2012 03:05 AM
CDRW will not work Win 2000 PROF [Compaq; 550/ PIII; win2KPro] RON99 CD-R & CD-RW 1 Aug 15, 2002 12:34 AM
Help. Need to know if GeForce3 Ti500 64Mb DDR DVI TV-Out will work with my mobo [; ; winXP] OmegaX Windows XP 6 Jun 20, 2002 09:51 PM
Will this bios flash work for this mobo sammy_510 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jun 11, 2002 01:50 PM
can i copy PS games to work on PC? [; ; win2KPro] Eraser253 Legacy Game Backup 1 Jan 29, 2002 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved