CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 2000
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 01:46 PM
cleocrazy cleocrazy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: boston
Posts: 4
Default cdrom not showing up in win2000 [Compaq; 5838; win2KPro]

sponsored links

 
i just did a clean Win2000 Pro install on a Compaq Presario 5838 with 1 cd-rom and 1 cd-rw drive. (both came with the machine)

both drives are detected in BIOS fine.
both drives are detected in Safe Mode fine.
only the cd-rom is seen in normal mode.

the cd-rw is not even in the device manager at all. windows thinks it doesn't exist. i have no idea what to do. i've even tried another normal cd-rom, but with the same results. it's fine in BIOS and Safe Mode, but when booting normally, there is no second drive.

anyone have any clue?
  #2  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 03:04 PM
iss iss is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 561
Default

go into device manager and uninstall the IDE channel the drive is on ( as long as it isnt on the same one as your hard drive) reboot and let windows reinstall it on boot up.

but before yu do right click the channel and chose properties then advanced see if the drive that is recognized is using DMA or PIO.
  #3  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 03:25 PM
cleocrazy cleocrazy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: boston
Posts: 4
Default

the recognized cd-rom is using "PIO Only".

i changed the second controller to "PIO Only" and rebooted, with no luck.

so i tried removing the secondary IDE and rebooting, also with no luck.

thanks for the suggestions, if you have anymore i'd be glad to hear them.
  #4  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 04:14 PM
BlackDiamondJr BlackDiamondJr is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 628
Default

Does the system require any chipset drivers?
IDE controllers can be problematic untill the motherboard chipset drivers are installed.
  #5  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 04:33 PM
cleocrazy cleocrazy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: boston
Posts: 4
Default

i checked Compaq's site, and no system software etc is available for that machine for win2000.

it seems to be a VIA chipset, so i'll try to find some from them.
  #6  
Old Aug 07, 2003, 07:21 PM
iss iss is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 561
Default

download aida 32 it will tell you exactly what chipset it is.

***********.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Up TV Out With My TV... [Compaq; Armada M700 ; win2KPro] kev269 Windows 2000 2 Dec 03, 2009 04:53 AM
CDROM not showing in WIN98 Goplanit Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Jun 13, 2002 03:18 AM
Software Problem [Compaq; Armada E500; win2KPro] Ash- Windows 2000 6 May 26, 2002 09:12 AM
SONY CD-RW CRX175A1 Problem [COMPAQ; 5340; win2KPro] er1975us CD-R & CD-RW 2 Apr 22, 2002 07:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved