CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > CD-R & CD-RW
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 23, 2002, 03:27 AM
cybordolphin cybordolphin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Default Burned a backup game using Clone Cd. Now it only plays on the machine that burned it

sponsored links

 
I made some backups of games for my kids to use on their computers. So they don't trash the originals. I am the only one with a burner.

I used Clone Cd and enabled "Hide CDR media". The cloned games play fine on my computer..... but when I insert the disk into the kids computer... it says the disk is EMPTY... NOTHING ON IT!!!???

I am using WINXP on both machines. HITACHI DVD on the kids. I Have a Lite on 48x burner.

What am I missing here?

Will I have to install a burner on the kids machine AND install Clone CD on their machine so that the burned disk will run??

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks
  #2  
Old Nov 23, 2002, 03:54 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

Hide CDR media is only required to run certain copied games in CDRW drives. All it does is block programs from checking the ATIP info.

Can their drives normally read CD's that you have burnt? Same brand, speed, etc.?
  #3  
Old Nov 23, 2002, 05:49 AM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Hi M8, it could be that the disc's are safe disc 2 protected and your burner isn't fully compatable, in short. the copied disc's will play in the burner and on the machine they were copied on.. put them in another PC and they dont work.
  #4  
Old Nov 23, 2002, 07:51 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

He said he has a Lite-On 48X. There are several different models, but they all support SD2.

Also he said the discs appear blank. If a burner only partially supported SD2 then the discs would appear normal, but not pass the SD2 varification and either ask for the correct CD or just crash.
  #5  
Old Nov 24, 2002, 07:07 AM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Thanks for the update celtic_druid, I dont have a litey myself and wasn't about to start looking up litey info, must admit missed the bit on the "appears blank" duh....

So, as you have already said, do the other PC's read other disc's that have been copied on your machine??
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playstation 2 - Frequently Asked Questions. (faq) TUBS Video Game Backup - PS2 18 Feb 20, 2006 04:34 AM
is there a difference between an original and a backup PS2 dvd-r game? Ixataka Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Feb 08, 2004 03:29 PM
problem backing up a backup dvd game icebreaker Video Game Backup - PS2 6 Jan 01, 2004 04:59 PM
Not a backup - game stopped working... shotsup Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Mar 18, 2003 07:11 PM
games never boot when I burn game with clone cd creamedcoffee CD-R & CD-RW 10 Jan 25, 2003 02:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved