CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 03:54 AM
kazir kazir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: cambs
Posts: 244
Default ++++ bios help needed urgently pleeeease +++++

sponsored links

 
i cannot get my pc to accept my 60gb hard drive. it already has a 20gb on it. i have award bios 4.51pg , can any one help, do i need a upgrade or is there something else i could do. i have tried all kinds of different things still not working. thanks for reading
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 04:07 AM
green_blade green_blade is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere In England
Posts: 2,175
Default

Best thing to do is work out what motherboard you have from the string of numbers / letters displayed at boot-up and check the manufacturers website. Maybe that it doesn't support a drive of that size. There might also be a further BIOS upgrade on there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 04:26 AM
Kalimero Kalimero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 100
Default

Hi there.. as far as i know you have first to put your hard on one this :
secondary master or slave, and after that, you have to format with fdisk in dos, because your os don't know the type of your hd (fat or ntfs) .

same problem to me and this is what i have done..

hope this helps..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 03:23 PM
kazir kazir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: cambs
Posts: 244
Default

thanks to green_blade @ Kalimero for there replies. unfortunately i need a new motherboard because it is "impossible for my motherboard to accept such a huge hard-drive" according to the motherboard manufacturer, so therefore i will have to make do with A 20gb hard-drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 05:02 PM
jspr57 jspr57 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,149
Default

Have you tried going to the hard drive manufacturers website? and downloading the hard drives installation software.

As this is designed to install the hard drive to most machines, and it usual works.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 15, 2003, 06:54 PM
Badidoh Badidoh is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA-STKN
Posts: 1,306
Default

Do this

Flash Bios..Upgrade to newest...since it's over 32gb, make sure you put on the LBA jumper

Then you're set, it should accept it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing bios advice needed please...........? tosca925 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jun 30, 2003 07:40 PM
needed urgently tonka96 CD Graphics & Karaoke 0 Dec 05, 2002 09:27 PM
No patches needed for Evo 2.3 bios or 2.4 right? Jaymus Video Game Backup - Xbox 1 Sep 13, 2002 07:03 PM
New spin on BIOS help needed..Duffy can you have a look in thks divers Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Aug 02, 2002 09:59 AM
cpu for k7s5a mother board lhys09915 Consumer's Opinion 8 May 20, 2002 03:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved