CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 26, 2002, 07:57 PM
snooper snooper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Default getaway dvd-r problems

sponsored links

 
Guys,

Ive got a Pioneer 105 and branded traxdata 1x dvd-r's which i always use and have been fine for backing up games until I tried the getaway. I can get into the main menu and then when i select new game i get a black screen and thats it. The disk recorded OK and is clean, so is the laser, so I was wondering if any of you knew whether there is any new protection scheme employed in the games, or whether you could suggest some different media to try because this has stumped me. Could it be macrovision?

My setup is V4 nogap bios with magic 3 chip.
  #2  
Old Dec 27, 2002, 05:39 AM
lhys09915 lhys09915 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 1,372
Default

i backed my copy onto traxdata they are good disks.did you burn it from an image first?
  #3  
Old Dec 27, 2002, 05:48 AM
snooper snooper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Default

no mate, I just burnt it "on the fly" - no probs. Cant understand it, but the ps2 sounds like it is hunting around looking for something. it also seems to be a time thing because if i dont select new game and cycle through the options menu, it slows up and starts hunting around then before stopping. As I said, no errors, so I cant work it out.
  #4  
Old Dec 27, 2002, 03:06 PM
pug666 pug666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

I found that if I tried to make say four back-ups one after the other with a A05 burner the last one would have burned 100%, but the PS2 would not read it very well.
Try reading it to HD first then burn it. I did 3 dud getaways before it worked.
  #5  
Old Dec 27, 2002, 05:10 PM
lhys09915 lhys09915 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 1,372
Default

burn from image first.try primo and press record it will then ask if you would like to pass through an image first select yes,never had a problem yet.
  #6  
Old Dec 27, 2002, 06:58 PM
snooper snooper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Default

OK guys, thank you all very much for your advice. I'll try it soon, but first i believe I will have to upgrade to NTFS because I have read that a FAT32 system cant see a single file that is over 4 gig, so good old reliable windows 98 will have to be upgraded to XP - which I have got but not installed yet on the PC that I use for burning. I'll let you all know how I get on.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop dvd problems alan16 DVD 3 Jul 09, 2003 11:46 AM
NEW InterVideo DVD Copy! Lazza DVD 5 Jun 04, 2003 06:36 AM
problems with dvd kit Wolf33055 Video Game Backup - Xbox 9 May 09, 2003 04:23 PM
DivX to DVD - Problems with Different Softwares BRUINSrock DVD 2 Dec 22, 2002 11:00 PM
DVD roylties donglinx DVD 0 Mar 22, 2002 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved