CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Old Oct 16, 2002, 02:48 PM
Veteran

Default HELP - dual boot OS - XP and Linux - problems when booting - "boot virus"

sponsored links

Hi

I have been running XP pro for a few months or so and wanted to install Linux (mandrake v9) using a dual boot to see what its like.

PC-
1.2 ghz athlon
Fic motherboard, via chipset
768 sd ram
20 gb HD (for windows)
60 gb HD, partitioned into 20 (linux for linux) and 40 (mp3's and stuff)
geforce 3 ti200

I installed Linux in a seperate partition on a secondary HD, and it has seemed to se up a dual boot as you would thought it should.

Problem is when i get to the dual boot screen.....when i type in either linux or windows, 2 of the possible boot options, it shows a red box saying that i have a boot virus. It gives me two options - to continue booting - which gets me into windows or linux fine, or to reboot inserting a clean bootable floppy - which i dont understand what will do. i have a win 98 boot disk, but it doesn't get you into windows or anything.

Anyway, i went onto windows and did a full virus scan (obviously only of the windows drives - not teh linux drive) and it found no viruses. i use norton and in the summary it said it had scanned teh master boot record and boot record aswell.

I have only had this problem since i installed linux.......any ideas how to stop it?

Someoen suggested to update my via 4 in 1 drivers......woudl i need to update these in windows and linux...... where can i download these drivers for windows and for linux?

Any other reasons why i may be having this problem, and how can i fix it.

If worst comes to the worst, i'll get rid of linux......but how do i totally remove linux and the dual boot, so it just boots straight into windows as before.