CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 10, 2002, 12:44 AM
fackyah fackyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 150
Talking Will I still need a firewall if i'm using a router???

sponsored links

 
Okay, i have a linksys router which i use it to shared my cable internet connection with 2 of my computers at home.

anyways, I don't know why, but i can use this computer and use the ip address that the router gave to me to connect to my other computers???

why can i connect to it if that ip address is a fake address?

i thought if you're using a router, then it will make a fake ip address for you? now i can open folder and file that I enable shared on my other computer and use this computer to open it............
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 10, 2002, 12:52 AM
motojeff motojeff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 258
Default

you'll want a firewall to monitor OUTGOING traffic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 10, 2002, 12:58 AM
fackyah fackyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 150
Default

so, i don't need a firewall???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 10, 2002, 02:09 AM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

No, you do need a firewall. Basically to control outgoing traffic and such, to provide securtity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starband Satellite Internet - Using a Router (PLEASE HELP lil bit of reading) BRUINSrock Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 May 09, 2009 08:17 AM
router finally worked... but what happened??? dfarrales Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Apr 16, 2003 02:20 PM
If I have a router, do I need a software firewall as well? philmeehan Computer Networking & Security 2 Nov 22, 2002 09:38 AM
Is there a dsl router/hub that does not have a firewall? whodi101 Computer Networking & Security 16 Nov 08, 2002 06:13 PM
router problems :( buzz-buzz Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jun 30, 2002 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved