CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 04, 2002, 09:06 AM
Kaizerboy Kaizerboy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 917
Default Why is my 2nd hard drive slower ???

sponsored links

 
I've just bought a new 120gb hard drive to go with my current 40gb.

Both drives are formatted as NTFS
Both drives are 7200rpm


If for example I have a vcd that I need to unrar & it's on my 40gb drive then it'll unrar in about 2 mins but if I was to unrar the exact same movie on my 120gb drive it's taking about 4 mins sometimes longer ?

Is there any settings I need to be looking for ?

When I look at both drives in partition magic v7.0 it says that my 40gb drive is primary & the 120gb is logical, could this be making any difference? , if so how do I change it from logical to primary using partition magic v7.0 ?

I'm running Windows xp


many thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 04, 2002, 09:27 AM
gambit_360 gambit_360 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,784
Default

Are the drives on the same IDE cable? That will slow things down if you read/write back and forth.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 04, 2002, 01:31 PM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

You may also want to verify the spec's on that harddrive. It may spin at 7200 RPM's but that doesn't mean it's seek and access time is as fast.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 05, 2002, 03:46 AM
CHR15 CHR15 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,619
Default

Download a utility called HDTACH. This will run a disk access test on your Drive.

***********.tcdlabs.com/hdtach.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 05, 2002, 04:04 AM
Trondos Trondos is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,022
Default

Are you sure DMA is enabled for your second drive?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 05, 2002, 06:01 AM
BattlefieldNinja BattlefieldNinja is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 254
Default

You first drive has to be Primary because it holds your O/S. This is the only relevance primary and logical has. It has no affect on the speed.
How the drives are connected will affect your speeds. If both drives are on the same cable and the CDROM on the other then access time should be equal. If however you have 1 HDD and 1 CDROM on one IDE then this will affect it. CD-Rom works at 16bit and HDD 32, any elemant on an IDE cable can only work at the speed of the slowest element so your IDE would only work 16bit too... If you can tell us how they are set up we may be able to offer more...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a hard drive, NTFS or FAT32 StandardBMX Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jan 09, 2006 08:26 AM
Adding A 2nd Hard Drive Wayguns Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Feb 19, 2004 05:08 PM
xbox hd and iso program SD_DRACULA Video Game Backup - Xbox 10 May 21, 2003 04:06 PM
Installing A 2nd Hard Drive [; ; winXP] x_ecutioners Windows XP 2 Jul 15, 2002 07:18 PM
Second hard drive in Windows XP catlitter Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Jun 21, 2002 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved