CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Consumer's Opinion
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Old Aug 24, 2002, 05:04 PM

Question Athlon, Duron, Pentium, or Celeron?

sponsored links

I'm planning on building a new machine and I can't decide between an Athlon, Duron, Pentium4, or Celeron. I had a Pentium2 350 in my old machine and a Celeron 600 in another and hard to believe, the P2 350 out performed the Celeron 600 in my experiences. But I've never used an AMD chip before so I was just wondering if anyone had any good experiences with one or all of them.
Old Aug 24, 2002, 07:15 PM

try pentium4 cause i have celeron and it s\/ck and athlon my cousin said its not good never here of Duron
Old Aug 25, 2002, 05:27 AM
Veteran

depends on how much you can afford to spend on the CPU. i have just built a system for myself and I have a duron 1.2ghz chip but that is only due to a tight budget otherwise I would have gone with the athlon xp. It also really depends on what you use your pc for , If you are a big gamer then i have heard alot of people say that the new p4 is thw way to go , Personally i like AMD over pentuim

HTH

M_rsa
Old Aug 26, 2002, 02:21 AM

anything over a gHz is fine. amd is relatively cheaper. it "ALL" depends on how much you want to spend and who you want to impress. you could always get a ghetto sys, nice case (w/clown gear plexiglass, lights, and some impressive awe inspiring stickers).

if it's other people's money spend on.
Old Aug 26, 2002, 06:20 PM
Veteran