CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Consumer's Opinion
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 12, 2002, 07:10 AM
Stoke Lad Stoke Lad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 83
Default Crucial Ram Choice

sponsored links

 
I am building myself a computer and due to the motherboard I will be usind DDR Ram. I have decided to buy from crucial.com, but there is 4 different choices for my motherboard at 256mb. They are:-

1) 256MB - 35.09 - DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 Unbuffered Non-parity 2.5V 32Meg x 64
2) 256MB - 43.19 - DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 Unbuffered ECC 2.5V 32Meg x 72
3) 256MB - 49.49 - DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 Registered ECC 2.5V 32Meg x 72
4) 256MB - 62.99 - DDR PC2700 CL=2.5 Unbuffered Non-parity 6ns 2.5V 32Meg x 64

Should I just go for the cheapest, or are there great advantages in going for the dearer options?

Cheers
  #2  
Old Jun 12, 2002, 07:55 AM
colin.scoble colin.scoble is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: unitedkingdom
Posts: 549
Default crucial memory

right try phoneing crucial on 08000130330.just phoned them and he gave me the following info,most motherboards are non ecc .you need to count the chips on your board ie non ecc=8-16 chips ecc=9-18.he advised that you would be better to phone them with your exact mother board details,they will help you.colin
  #3  
Old Jun 12, 2002, 01:56 PM
DIABLO DIABLO is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,082
Default

I'm asuming that's what the memory selector picked for your board yeah, if i was you i would get number one because number 4 runs at 166Mhz so unless you are overclocking it is not needed. And 2 and 3 have basically got added error correction and provention so unless you are running a server which is on 24/7 it is not needed (Some motherboards will only use ECC ram) and will infact slow the memory down. Hope i helped m8.
  #4  
Old Jun 12, 2002, 02:33 PM
Stoke Lad Stoke Lad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 83
Default

Yeah you have helped, the memory selector did choose those from the motherboard I told it I have got. As I'm not building a server I'll get the cheapest one.

Cheers
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which RAM for Packard Bell Laptop [Packard Bell; iPower 5541; winXP] rssilver Windows XP 7 Mar 21, 2003 01:42 PM
Unable to backup dvd to ram disk with panasonic LF-D311 jools2003 DVD 2 Mar 08, 2003 02:41 PM
upgrading RAM jesseg31 Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Dec 19, 2002 04:05 PM
dell RAM or Crucial? jesseg31 Consumer's Opinion 12 Dec 17, 2002 10:05 PM
A 486'r RAM Headache Jack Frost Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jul 12, 2002 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved