CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 15, 2003, 10:40 PM
mynameis? mynameis? is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 135
Default can you use 2 different brand ddr ram at same time?

sponsored links

 
I currently have kingston 2100 ddr ram in my computer. Can I add a stick of Crucial 2100 ddr ram along with the Kingston. Or does all ddr ram have to be the same brand. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jul 15, 2003, 11:01 PM
heatbball heatbball is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 462
Default

yes, u can use differnet brands though it isnt reccomended

you should be fine however as you are using good branded ram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 16, 2003, 03:23 PM
smeggin19 smeggin19 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 307
Default

Also, if your mobo supports the Duel Channel option, then make sure you definately use the same brands and sizes of DDR (that is if you plan to use this option).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jul 16, 2003, 03:25 PM
Van Nugent Van Nugent is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 6,779
Default

Yep, smeggin is correct. He's just 1 sec faster than I was to say so.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jul 16, 2003, 04:37 PM
beardedwonder beardedwonder is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,021
Default

There are quite a lot of online stores that provided paired RAM sticks so you can save money.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jul 16, 2003, 06:03 PM
pepsik pepsik is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: LA,CA,USA
Posts: 1,251
Default

Only issue I've run across with ddr sticks is make sure they are the same CAS latency. If you use brand names though you won't get any problems cause they all run at 3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time reload cd probs need urgent help [Time; ; winXP] The Firemaster Windows XP 3 Mar 15, 2004 06:29 AM
PC restarts during boot after putting new ram in!??! [; ; winXP] michaelstorey Windows XP 3 Feb 17, 2004 11:55 AM
Burn DVD-R's with DVD RAM Drive? RudeYute DVD 4 Nov 30, 2003 04:21 PM
XP memory low, 256MB ram Rikkelz Open to All Computer Related Topics 17 Nov 21, 2003 08:47 PM
which of these is better RAM? mynameis? Consumer's Opinion 6 Jul 11, 2003 06:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved