CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 95
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 12, 2002, 12:07 PM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default do i need a new motherboard to.. [compaq; 4830; win95a]

sponsored links

 
install a new hard drive?

my current hard drive is 6gb but i'm gonna buy a new 20gb+ hard drive. do i need to buy a new motherboard as well so the hard drive works?
  #2  
Old Sep 12, 2002, 11:29 PM
Hoss Hoss is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: North Coast of the US on Lake Erie
Posts: 10,288
Default

It might work up to 30 GB allright. But you won't get any benfits of the ATA/66, 100 or 133 if it doesn't support it.
What CPU are you running and do you know what chipset the Mobo uses?

If not try here
***********.belarc.com/Download.html

***********.hwinfo.com/
  #3  
Old Sep 13, 2002, 04:48 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

i have a pentium II 266mhz wit windows 95.gonna upgrade the OS to 98 or ME.
  #4  
Old Sep 14, 2002, 07:13 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

here are my details:

motherboard chipset intel 82440FXNATOMA
CPU TYPE = original OEM processor

my drive is:
IDE (ATA/ATAPI) 6GB quantum bigfoot_cy6480A

i'm from uk.
  #5  
Old Sep 15, 2002, 09:06 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

*bump*
  #6  
Old Sep 15, 2002, 03:40 PM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

*bump*
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would a compaq motherboard fit on an ATX case? [Compaq; 5430US; winXP] marimo Windows XP 2 Jun 08, 2003 06:42 AM
error codes on bios graham3278 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Apr 01, 2003 06:12 PM
hard drive question [compaq; 4830; win98] the_hittman Windows 98 20 Sep 22, 2002 10:12 AM
upgrading my pc help [compaq; 4830; win95a] the-hittman Windows 95 14 Sep 15, 2002 03:41 PM
Motherboard upgrade [Compaq Presario; 5900T; win98] kycats Windows 98 1 Jun 11, 2002 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved