CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 95
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Apr 03, 2003, 11:34 AM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

sponsored links

 
boot the PC with a boot floppy, 95 or 98 will do

choose to boot with CD rom support

let the floppy finish

put the cd in the drive

at the A prompt change it to the CD drive (either D or E usually)

at the E (?) prompt type setup.exe

the cd should now run and install the OS

hopefully this will have reinstalled your windows 95 for you and fixd the faults you have in the registry and other areas by the sound of things.

Dont run the set up file whilst already in windows, some of the reg files are protected from change whilst in use.

sounds like an old PC, office 2000 pro is on 4 cd's, will this much fit onto the PC?
  #14  
Old Apr 03, 2003, 01:36 PM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Default

Thanks for that. The PC is about 5 years old but, it has loads of room on it. will the pc still have all it's settings after that, i.e. the dial up networking stuff and saved documents etc? Or will it all need to be put back on?
Steeve.
  #15  
Old Apr 03, 2003, 01:53 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

The PC should retain all the settings you currently have, it really depends on what parts of the OS are currently corrupted or damaged, if there replaced/rebuilt then the setting will need re-applying, shouldn't be a problem though, the bigger issue would be due to the limitations of 95 if you had to format the drive and reinstall win95 from fresh, you would also need all of the drivers for the hardware running. reinstalling as you plan to do, all the drivers are present, the saved documents will be unaffected.
  #16  
Old Apr 03, 2003, 01:58 PM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Default

Thanks for your help, much appreciated. I'll give that a try, if all fails, I've got W98 somewhere, I could put that on.
Steeve.
  #17  
Old Apr 11, 2003, 08:03 AM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Default

Ok, I've given up on it. I re-formatted, I've put ME on & guess what it did it again. The blue progress line stops about halfway, I get impatient after about 15 mins and cancel the installation. I don't remember it ever taking as long as that. Should I just wait an hour or so for it to install?
Steeve.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem installing win2k/win nt or winXP as a 2nd OS mmace Windows XP 1 Jul 05, 2002 03:08 PM
HELP - Problem with installing GTA 3 :( LLoBo Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Jun 20, 2002 05:32 AM
problem..installing back up copy 2chevy CD-R & CD-RW 2 Mar 02, 2002 10:28 AM
delta force land warrior installing problem [; ; winME] bazzer Legacy Game Backup 0 Feb 20, 2002 06:00 PM
problem installing a SCSI cd-writer .... [Yamaha; CRW4416S; winME] gil_we CD-R & CD-RW 4 Feb 14, 2002 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved