CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - Xbox
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 03, 2003, 04:36 PM
Bowdrinker Bowdrinker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 16
Default HDD how big?

sponsored links

 
Can someone please tell me how big the hdd is in an xbox and can you change it for one that is used in a pc

thanx

Bowdrinker
  #2  
Old Jun 03, 2003, 08:47 PM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

8Gigs I believe although the more recent ones actually have 12gig ones formated as 8gigs. I believe it can handle drives upto 120gigs although I guess you need it chiped to install one. I could be wrong though, as I know basically nothing about XBox's.

Anyway, I'm moving this to the XBox forum
  #3  
Old Jun 03, 2003, 09:00 PM
Jaice Jaice is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,556
Default

8gigs, some are said to have 10 or 20, but they are not usable right out the box I think.

You can upgrade up yo 120gigs, and use every gig if you want.
  #4  
Old Jun 03, 2003, 10:04 PM
freakit freakit is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,317
Default

120 is the max. if you go bigger the xbox will only see 137 gigs i believe. just like a motherboard in a pc. you need the ATA card to go beyond 137 gigs. and you can't use a card in the xbox.

if i'm wrong correct me.
  #5  
Old Jun 04, 2003, 03:05 AM
develitate develitate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 290
Default

The xbox will only utilize 137gb of a 160 gb HDD, so its better to just buy a 120gb (thats what i have and its plenty of space) You need a modchip to upgrade the HDD. If your Xbox has a seagate HDD its 10 gigs, and you can unlock the other two gigs with EvoX (which also requires a mod chip). If its not a seagate then it only has the standard 8gb. Hope this clears up some cunfusion
  #6  
Old Jun 04, 2003, 06:37 AM
Memphis Memphis is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,821
Default

And I just want to clear up that there are no 20Gb hard drives. People started thinking that there were because the model number was virtually the same as the 10Gb.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIG HDD question (120GB) gooty Open to All Computer Related Topics 8 Nov 12, 2003 05:21 PM
How big hdd can i use for PIII 550 pls??? JS2000 Consumer's Opinion 3 Oct 10, 2003 06:57 PM
How Big A Hdd Will My K7 S5a Mb Take? gooty Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Aug 14, 2003 02:06 AM
maxtor hdd and parition magic probs hara-kiri Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Jul 21, 2003 06:38 PM
xbox hd and iso program SD_DRACULA Video Game Backup - Xbox 10 May 21, 2003 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved