CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Jun 15, 2005, 10:45 PM
felchi80 felchi80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

sponsored links

 
now...... this is just weird.
I have cleaned up the board a bit... there was quite some flux over the connections.
I put everything together and went to tried again. (note. i didn't touch the board for two days. don't know if the cold boot has anything to do with it.)
So... to my surprise, the ps2 booted!... i pressed eject... the tray came out!
Then to make sure, i pressed reset a few times and it came back a few times.
So then i put in a dvd video.... and.... nothing... went to browse... it was not "reading disc", i dont think the disc was spinning. So then i just shut off the power and turn on again, press on reset and guess what. the machine would not boot anymore, neither does the eject button. I'm back to the beginning....
any thoughts what might be causing this? perhaps better cleaning is needed?
what's a good way to remove the flux between pins of an ic?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jun 16, 2005, 01:19 AM
felchi80 felchi80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

third post of the day.
I've been doing some more cleaning.... this time with isopropyl alcohol, q tips and a tooth brush.
after extensive cleaning, it is now booting again.
I popped in the dvd and started playing the movie for like 10 secs. and it stalled. and the disc would not spin anymore.
even if i reset and reset... it will not spin anymore. I see that each time i eject and insert the disc.... they drive would "try" to spin for a fraction of a second and then nothing.
Another odd thing, the system settings seems to not retain the information.
eg. i change the language to english, but after resetting it goes back to jap.
it seems to be selective also, the time is retained after resetting for example.
However, I cannot set the time properly... like i was changing the year to 2005... after i press on ok button it would jump to 2004 by itself. really odd.. i can only choose certain dates/times......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jun 16, 2005, 09:42 AM
felchi80 felchi80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

does anyone know if i could replace a v4 jap mobo with a v4 US mobo?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jun 16, 2005, 11:39 AM
ghost2_fitter ghost2_fitter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midlands U.K
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felchi80
third post of the day.
I've been doing some more cleaning.... this time with isopropyl alcohol, q tips and a tooth brush.
after extensive cleaning, it is now booting again.
I popped in the dvd and started playing the movie for like 10 secs. and it stalled. and the disc would not spin anymore.
even if i reset and reset... it will not spin anymore. I see that each time i eject and insert the disc.... they drive would "try" to spin for a fraction of a second and then nothing.
Another odd thing, the system settings seems to not retain the information.
eg. i change the language to english, but after resetting it goes back to jap.
it seems to be selective also, the time is retained after resetting for example.
However, I cannot set the time properly... like i was changing the year to 2005... after i press on ok button it would jump to 2004 by itself. really odd.. i can only choose certain dates/times......


hi mate. The fact that after cleaning you managed to boot your dvd suggests that there is still some flux causing you problems as it heats. Flux will conduct when it heats, if you have used an excessive amount you may have some stuck behind your bio's legs. Id suggest giving it a good clean again and blowing out the chip legs with a high pressure air hose. I've had a couple of customers report sucess with this method.

Not sure about the jap to U.s board, but will take a look later and let you know, but i would have thought that should be fine.





For all your U.K premod, chip and fitting needs. Full postal service, 3 month warranty on all sales.

www.ghost2fitter.co.uk

[email]sales@ghost2fitter.co.uk[/email]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Jun 16, 2005, 12:10 PM
felchi80 felchi80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

hm... i dont know where i could find one.... i dont supposed those duster cans are strong enough coz i've already tried that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Jun 16, 2005, 02:54 PM
ghost2_fitter ghost2_fitter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midlands U.K
Posts: 302
Default

you can buy can's of compressed air, or you'l look a bit of a plank, but can be done at a garage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
“How to burn and play PS2, and PSX games on your PS2 without a modchip” yogesh Video Game Backup - PS2 19 Apr 19, 2005 01:19 AM
can i mod a jap ps2 to play us backups? nan Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Jun 17, 2004 08:37 PM
ps2 chipping service/west yorksire lumbie PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 1 May 17, 2004 01:17 PM
NEW US PS2: which mod chip? kwanbis PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 6 Mar 09, 2003 01:22 PM
Jap PS2 Probs - Help Sol Man PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 4 Oct 08, 2002 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved