CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 12, 2002, 11:37 PM
Soul Divide Soul Divide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 159
Default How much RAM does XP Home recognize?

sponsored links

 
An answer would be greatly appreciated. Preferably a correct answer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jun 13, 2002, 12:02 AM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

2 terabytes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jun 13, 2002, 03:41 PM
Soul Divide Soul Divide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 159
Default

2 terabytes!?! That can't be right. Win2k only recognizes 4gigabytes of RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jun 13, 2002, 04:09 PM
sparkster sparkster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 357
Default

Win2k is Win2k, WinXP is WinXP. Maybe WinXP Home has been made so it can recognise more RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jun 13, 2002, 04:30 PM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Standard (home+pro) versions is 4GB but I'm sure some of the spe******t server versions will be higher.

***********.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/evaluation/features.asp
***********.pcmag.com/article/0,2997,s=1841&a=1899,00.asp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jun 13, 2002, 05:45 PM
Soul Divide Soul Divide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 159
Default

Ok, thanks. The reason I asked, sparkster, is because consumer versions of windows usually recognize more RAM than the professional/server versions. Also, 2 terabytes of RAM is just a ridiculous amount, I can't even see the server versions supporting that much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard or RAM Problem? akihagames Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Apr 21, 2003 06:44 PM
Why is my work computer internet connection faster than my home cable? bnbhoha Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Apr 09, 2003 04:24 AM
dell RAM or Crucial? jesseg31 Consumer's Opinion 12 Dec 17, 2002 10:05 PM
RAM Trouble (IRQ?) LiNkZ Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Dec 16, 2002 09:55 PM
A 486'r RAM Headache Jack Frost Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jul 12, 2002 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved