CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #19  
Old Jul 07, 2002, 09:51 PM
uk_trader uk_trader is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,103
Default

sponsored links

 
Dont know if its already been mentioned couldnt be bothered reading the last few posts, but have you set up your trusted local network in your firewalls configuration, if not you need to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Jul 08, 2002, 03:53 AM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

I totally agree with uk_trader, and if it isn't a ZoneAlarm problem, you could try removing some of the unnecessary (or all) of the network protocols and only trying what you absolutely need one at a time to see if perhaps that could be the problem. However it does appear to be a software conflict somewhere so it will be trial and error.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old Jul 08, 2002, 06:00 AM
majid316 majid316 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,773
Default

I Double click it and "Local Area Network Status" And then I clicked on "support"

On the HOST

Internet Protocal TCP/IP

Address type - Manually Configured.

IP address - 192.168.0.1

Subnet Mask - 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway - (Blank)


Details:
Physical address (then address)
IP Address 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gate way blank
DNS Server Blank
WINS Server Blank!

General is

Connection
Status: Connected
Duration: 1 day 00.24.55
Speed: 100.00Mbp

Activity
Sent 12,312
Received 142,817


I also believe its software related now!

How do I uninstall Zonealram from Add/Remove or is there a different method??

Zonealarm is on both PCs client and Host!!

Thanks for the Advice guys really appreciate it
Lets hope its get sorted soon!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Jul 08, 2002, 01:30 PM
daz daz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: scotland
Posts: 83
Default

Everything you said sounds exactly like my problems before getting rid of zone alarm.
Uninstall it the normal way first (add/remove programs or start menu? can't remember)
Then you'll need to remove the other files - they are not all obviously related to zone alarm so you'll need to find a web page where it is explained in detail what to do.
Like I said call Blueyonder that s where I got the link.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Jul 08, 2002, 07:45 PM
Desticado Desticado is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 402
Default

Try removing zone alarm then remove all the networking protocols and then reinstall them. No guarentees but might help.

I had a similar problem networking my two pcs a while back.

Both XP with Norton firewall.

Configured the network, set the safe IPs in Norton and nothing.
So I removed norton, reinstalled it, let it detect the other IP's to add to the safe list and it worked perfectly... even though it had EXACTLY the same configuration it begin with...

Go figure...

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 09:25 AM
majid316 majid316 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,773
Default

*UPDATE*

Okay I have got Host to ping Client now!

So Host [Pings Client and itself]

But the Client [Only Pings itself]
When I try to Ping Host on client I get "request timed out"


This worked after I reinstall [full Win xp Pro on the client again]


I was trying to phone blueyonder today but there 2hr waiting!! As there lines are down?
So any other ideas almost there now!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Am Having MAJOR Problems With Internet Explorer! Need Help! [Dell; ; winXP] ThreeD Windows XP 8 Dec 20, 2009 02:49 PM
Starband Satellite Internet - Using a Router (PLEASE HELP lil bit of reading) BRUINSrock Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 May 09, 2009 08:17 AM
Connecting to the internet while not logged on grae Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Oct 10, 2002 07:57 PM
Can me and my sister use the same 56k internet account??? fackyah Open to All Computer Related Topics 16 Sep 13, 2002 04:17 PM
56k internet won't works after installing AOL FREE Trial neokeyrulerz Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jul 03, 2002 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved