CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #25  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 09:34 AM
majid316 majid316 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,773
Default

sponsored links

 
Okay

Both PC are Ping each other NOW!!!!!!!!!


Host pings [Client and itself]
Client Pings [Itself and Host]


What do i need to do now to get client online
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 09:53 AM
daz daz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: scotland
Posts: 83
Default

In Internet explorer on client pc go into "tools" then "internet options" then go to "connections" tab. Choose "never dial a connection" then click "lan settings"
Choose "automatically detect settings" and at the bottom "use a proxy server for your lan......" enter the address as 192.168.0.1 port 80 (I'm assuming that is the ip address of the host pc? If not enter the correct address or change it to this. Click ok until you are back to internet explorer.

Now assuming you have different computer names but the same workgroup name. Everything should work ok.
You will then have to get a firewall which is when you may have more problems - as I do!

good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 11:58 AM
majid316 majid316 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 2,773
Default

Thanks guys all sorted

Canít thank you guys enough!
All I need now is a firewall anyone recommends one?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 12:03 PM
Desticado Desticado is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 402
Default

I use Nortons but zone alarm is very good too.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 12:08 PM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

[url=********soho.sygate.com/products/pspf_ov.htm]Sygate Personal Firewall Pro
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old Jul 09, 2002, 12:18 PM
daz daz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: scotland
Posts: 83
Default

Stay away from zonealarm in my opinion - probably whats caused your troubles from the outset.

I cant recommend one though, I still have problems!

All of a sudden my client stopped accessing the net but that is the least of my worries right now. Let me know if your set up mysteriously stops working.
Can you access files on both pcs right now? Thats all I am able to do. (when both pcs work!)
Maybe u should switch off your modem when u r not on the net - till u get a firewall.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Am Having MAJOR Problems With Internet Explorer! Need Help! [Dell; ; winXP] ThreeD Windows XP 8 Dec 20, 2009 02:49 PM
Starband Satellite Internet - Using a Router (PLEASE HELP lil bit of reading) BRUINSrock Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 May 09, 2009 08:17 AM
Connecting to the internet while not logged on grae Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Oct 10, 2002 07:57 PM
Can me and my sister use the same 56k internet account??? fackyah Open to All Computer Related Topics 16 Sep 13, 2002 04:17 PM
56k internet won't works after installing AOL FREE Trial neokeyrulerz Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jul 03, 2002 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved