CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 2000
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 06:48 PM
neokeyrulerz neokeyrulerz is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 169
Talking how to install windows from a blank harddrive

sponsored links

 
Windows 2000 Setup disks or the Windows 2000 Professional CD

Hi, if i only have the Windows 2000 Professional CD, but not the Windows 2000 setup disks, then can i still install Windows 2000 Pros.
from a clean hard drive. I means that i just format my hard drive so it's doesn't have any data in the hard drive now. It's a clean hard drive
and i want to install Windows 2000 Pro. on it, but can i if i don't have the start up disk.

Well, my Windows 2000 Pro. CD is a bootable cd-rom
  #2  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 06:51 PM
neokeyrulerz neokeyrulerz is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 169
Default

I want to install it from a blank harddrive, but can i do that without the setup disk but with just the cdrom. I don't want to install it from an old version of windows or to upgrade it.
  #3  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 08:40 PM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

Think about what you're saying....You don't want to install Windows 2000 FROM a blank harddrive, you want to install it TO a blank harddrive.

Set your BIOS to boot to the CD then just boot the CD. Answer the prompts and it will partition, format, and install the OS for you.
  #4  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 10:17 PM
neokeyrulerz neokeyrulerz is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 169
Default

sorry, I always type without thinking, sorry anyways, so that's means i can install windows 200 without the setup disk right???


- thx a lot!!! lol
  #5  
Old Jul 07, 2002, 03:53 AM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

The setup disks are only needed if your system can't boot to the CD. It's the same install program running whether you boot to the CD or use the floppies.
  #6  
Old Jul 07, 2002, 10:12 AM
cardtraderuk cardtraderuk is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: london uk
Posts: 577
Default

if the cd is a genuine windows 2000 cd just change the boot sequence in the bios so cdrom is your first boot device ecsape f10 and yes then that should be thatjust follow on screen menu mate hope this helps

kind regards

jason
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Windows..i cant install ANYTHING (kazaa) Operator Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Dec 04, 2003 07:33 AM
another windows 2000 install question noamkrief Windows 2000 3 May 30, 2003 07:23 PM
how do i install the latest detanator drivers?? windows xp stepp Device Driver Questions 2 Dec 28, 2002 05:42 PM
Making a boot disk to install Windows 98 on a wiped laptop? Please help! Manc Basher Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Sep 22, 2002 08:23 AM
Windows ME and WinONCD - Prob ? degdus CD-R & CD-RW 9 Feb 08, 2002 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved